Photo enhancement software

How many of you enhance your photos before posting them?  On occasion, I will brighten a photo, or tweak the contrast a bit, but typically that’s about as far as I go.  Awhile back I got a photo enhancement program.  Much of it seems pretty complex, but I’ve been playing around with some of the very basic features. 

 

our baby chicks 003

This photo of our Silkie chick is untouched. 

 

our baby chicks 003

This is the same photo but I brightened it.  I also adjusted the color and contrast.  Notice what a difference there is?

 

our baby chicks 0031

Here is the same photo but I used the pencil feature on it.

What do you think about photo enhancing programs?   Are you thankful for them?  Or, do you curse them? 

7 thoughts on “Photo enhancement software

  1. I wish I can figure out photoshop but it’s not happening anytime soon.

    I did use a very old Microsoft program that was easy to use and had a lot of features. Alas, the program was discontinued and now it’s not compatible with the new windows 7.

    I’m using picasa which is easy for cropping and resizing with a few fun add ons. It is simple to use but limiting.

    Joanne

  2. GIMP and Paint.NET are the photo programs I use. They are both free and once you get used to them, you can get photos looking pretty good really quickly. I too usually only use them for contrast/brightness and sometimes to add a little saturation. They are also great for removing dust or spots that you don’t want in an otherwise great photo 🙂

  3. I love them, I use Photoshop and Illustrator. I use them at work so I had to have them at home. I always use the software to clean up my pics a bit. Nothing fancy but just clean out the icky stuff my boring point and shoot does.

Reply

