Oh Fudge

I’ve been working on a project this week that required me to make one of my favorite comfort foods.  I thought about all of them, and settled on chocolate peanut butter fudge. Fudge is one of my favorite sweets, and it’s rich, creamy, melt in your mouth texture screams comfort.  This is a quick and easy recipe that you can throw together in a few minutes time.

The ingredients:

1/4  c. margarine
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. milk
1/3 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. chocolate chips, melted
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1  ¾ c. powdered sugar

In a saucepan, melt margarine.

Fudge 009

Add brown sugar and milk. 

Fudge 012

Bring to a boil, continue to boil for 2 minutes. 

Fudge 016

Remove from heat, add melted chocolate, peanut butter, and vanilla to the boiled mixture..  Stir thoroughly.

Fudge 019

Add powdered sugar, and beat with electric mixer until smooth.

Fudge 020

Pour into an 8”x8” baking pan – I used a 6” round.  Cool completely before cutting.

 Fudge 070

Peanut butter fudge, or chocolate peanut butter fudge happens to be my favorite flavor.  What’s yours?  Have you purchased fudge in a candy shop?  It’s outrageously priced and I’m not sure why, the ingredients are as simple as making the fudge.

17 thoughts on “Oh Fudge

  1. Every time I take my children into a cutesy shop that sells “homemade” fudge , they beg for some. I have a hard time paying high prices for something that is so easy to make at home. Our favorite flavor is butterscotch or penuche flavored fudge followed by traditional chocolate, but that is only because I have never tried making peanut butter! Thanks for sharing such a delicious looking recipe.

  2. Awesome pictures! Love fudge with walnuts. Mackinac Island has some of the best fudge in the world. Its about 250 miles north of us so needless to say we don’t get there often.

  3. Mmmm….fudge….I have a mad urge to whip some up. The classic chocolate will always be my favorite. I’ve never actually bought fudge…it’s just too easy to make.

  4. I think I would be partial to peanut butter fudge too. Can you believe I’ve never made fudge at home before? Thank you for sharing yourself and your creative eats with me week after week. This is a place where I come to feel love and inspiration. You are a blessing. Have a wonderful Friday!

Reply

