Holy Cow Parfaits

Milk Chocolate, dark chocolate, mocha, heavy cream, and Kahlua makes this the ultimate dessert.  Or as I’ve named it; the Holy Cow Parfait.  Just you wait and see!

Last month, I wrote a post which I ended up titling Skinny Mini’s.  Yes dear friends, it was a mini dessert that you could conceivably consider a no-guilt necessary dessert.  Sugar-free gelatin, a mini vanilla shortbread bite, and a tiny dollop of Mascato infused whipped cream starred in that show.  A perfect ending to a heavy meal; most definitely. 

This month however, I wanted to get away from the skinny.  I wanted a dessert that was rich, creamy, and delectably smooth.  And that’s how the Holy Cow Parfait came to be.  I decided to serve this parfait in my (oh, so cute) Just Desserts Square Mini Dishes, and my Just Dessert Parfait Dishes that I received from my friends at Libbey Glass.

So, are you ready for The Holy Cow Parfait??

Kahlua Milk Chocolate Pudding (Holy Cow Parfait)

1/2 c. sugar

2 tbsp. cornstarch

1/4 tsp. salt

2 c. skim milk

1/2 c. milk chocolate chips, chopped fine

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp. margarine

1 tbsp. Kahlua

In a medium saucepan combine sugar, cornstarch, and salt.  Stir in milk and milk chocolate; cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly.  Cook for 2 minutes more.  Remove from heat and gradually add 1 cup of hot milk mixture to the beaten egg. 

Return all mixture back into saucepan and cook for about 2 minutes more.  Remove from heat;  stir in margarine and Kahlua.  Transfer hot pudding into dessert dishes and place in the refrigerator while you prepare whipped cream.

Mocha Whipped Cream

1 c. heavy whipping cream

1 tsp. instant coffee granules

1/2 tsp. sugar

2 tbsp. dark chocolate, chopped fine (one tbsp. for the whipped cream; one for garnish)

In a refrigerated metal bowl, add whipping cream, instant coffee, sugar, and 1 tbsp. of chopped chocolate.  Beat with electric mixer until whipped cream is formed.   Transfer from bowl into a pastry bag and refrigerate for about 10 minutes.

Remove dessert glasses with pudding, and pastry bag filled with whipped cream, from the refrigerator.  Place whipped cream on top of each dish of pudding.  Sprinkle chopped dark chocolate on top of whipped cream as garnish.  Return to refrigerator until ready to serve.

Makes about 12 mini desserts.

I am really smitten with this dessert because the milk chocolate makes the pudding sweeter, while the whipped cream topping has a slightly bitter taste garnered from the instant coffee.  The two pair perfectly when you take a spoonful that has a little of both on it.

Have you ever made mini desserts?   If you were going to make one of these two desserts, which would you choose?  The Skinny Mini or the Holy Cow Parfait?

blitzed-on-pinterest2

 

 

 

 

.

18 thoughts on “Holy Cow Parfaits

  1. What a beautiful dessert! And full of so many of my favorite ingredients. Thank you for sharing sweet friend! I’m hosting a giveaway on my blog (for one of Ryan’s necklaces) and I’d love for you to visit. I hope you are doing well, my friend!

  2. Holy cow! I love those parfaits! I love little mini desserts. I’d like to say they are guilt free but honestly…..I never feel guilty when I’m eating dessert! These look truly luscious. I’ve been craving a creamy, chocolate dessert lately. I’m going to have to break out my itty bitty glasses for these, too! LOVE these, Eileen! : )

Reply

