Vintage Camper Bathroom Remodeling Challenges

The bathroom in the Pink Paradise (1972 Frolic) was in horrible shape and it has required (almost) a complete tear out and rebuild.  It needed some new studs, insulation, wallboard, plumbing, and electrical work.  Some of which we are still in progress of finishing.  But in the meantime, I thought I’d give you a little glimpse of before and during.

Frolic bathroom (above) before cleaning.

Frolic bathroom (above) after cleaning.

Frolic bathroom (above) during tear out.

Frolic bathroom (above) after tear out.

Frolic bathroom (above) with new insulation.

Frolic bathroom (above) with new studs, Luan plywood, electrical work, and insulation.

Working in there hasn’t been what I’d call a real joy either. For starters, it was so dirty and nasty that I was initially leery about going in there to clean it.  Yes, that bad!  We’ve since been faced with the dilemma of what kind of materials use in it too.  There are very limited choices of building materials available for use in a camper where there will be a functioning shower in use in a very small space.  No nice fiberglass shower kits to choose from…  And while we did think about using tile and grout, we decided against it since the camper will be moving and shifting as it is pulled down the road.

Originally, I thought we were going to end up using a waterproof white plastic wallboard that I felt was quite utilitarian looking and I wasn’t particularly excited about.  Instead, we have spent some time looking for another option – which we’ve found and I’m very happy with.

As soon as the bathroom is finished I’ll be posting pictures of it, and won’t you be surprised!

8 thoughts on “Vintage Camper Bathroom Remodeling Challenges

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished product! These remodeling projects can seem so daunting. It is going to be great to have the before and after pics! Thank you for sharing!

  2. I’m fascinated with the old wallpaper with the bikes & ships. Very retro cool. I’m loving the camper updates. Can’t wait to see the finished project!

  3. Good job with the cleaning, Eileen….that was a tough job to tackle! I am so envious of your pink paradise. I can’t wait to see all the photos when it is finished, though I enjoy seeing the ‘in progress’ photos, too. And I really look forward to the stories you will have about your adventures! Keep up the good work! : )

Reply

