Mixing up a batch of spring fresh

The other afternoon I decided to make a batch of soap.  I usually make homemade (cold-process) soap from scratch, but it can be a bit tricky, and time-consuming.  So, on occasion I cheat and  buy a block of glycerin soap base at the local craft store. This is the easiest and safest way to make soap in your own kitchen.

On this particular day I was in an easy mood, and I was thinking along the lines of spring fragrances and colors,  I had a half of lemon that needed to be used up so I knew which direction I was headed in where fragrances were concerned. 

I peeled the skin off the lemon and ground it in the food processor. Next, I melted the glycerin base in a large glass measuring cup in the microwave. Once melted, I added my choice of colors, scents, and herbs.  I poured the liquid into greased molds ( you can use either store-bought molds, or containers you have on hand like pudding cups, milk cartons, etc.) Once the soap hardened, I unmolded it.

 

soap 008

soap 012

soap making 007

soap 015

 

soap 037

  I opted to make three different fragrances for this project.

soap 095

Lemon Melon (pictured on the right) is made with yellow colorant, lemon-melon oil, and ground lemon rind, Vanilla Lavender (pictured in the center) is made with no colorant, vanilla oil, and dried lavender, and Lemon Lavender Carnation (pictured on the left) is made with yellow colorant, carnation oil, ground lemon rind, and dried lavender.

Make a batch of these pretty little soaps to brighten your day, and give a bar to a friend to brighten their day too.

Oh, and one more thing. The winner of the giveaway is Elisha.  Congratulations!!

 

13 thoughts on “Mixing up a batch of spring fresh

  1. Pingback: A Joy of Caking DIY Project «

  2. I am so impressed! These soaps look fantastic and making your own is such a creative and efficient idea 🙂 They would make perfect little gifts…if I could part with them! Wishing you a wonderful Sunday 🙂

  3. Smile. It doesn’t surprise me that you make such beautiful soaps. You have such a gift at turning the ordinary into something extraordinary. Thank you for sharing, my dear. Visiting the blogs that I’ve come to love this year brings me such comfort. Thank you for being such a sweet and uplifting presence. Have a great Friday.

Reply

