A Day of Adventure

 

Last week, my husband mentioned an antique farm equipment auction that he wouldn’t mind going to. The list did sound inviting.  There were a couple antique VW Bugs listed, an old Jeep, a gazillion old tractors, and a list that didn’t seem to have an end to it.  I am an antique/auction buff, but I wasn’t convinced that getting up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday to drive a considerable distance sounded that inviting.  Nor, was I doing cartwheels at the thought of standing out in the cold for very long either.  We went to bed Friday night without making any definitive decision whether we were, or weren’t going to the auction. 

When I woke up Saturday morning the sun was shining bright,  and I felt like an adventure.   I’m a spur of the moment kind of girl.  Things seem so much more fun when you don’t plan every detail.  We hurried around, and were soon on our way.  The temperature, 25 degrees. 

When we got to the auction, vehicles were bumper to bumper on both sides of the highway, and on a side road that ran past the farm.  The crowd almost scared us away.

auction day 003

I decided to take a few pictures at the auction, while hubby watched some of the items sell.

 

auction day 008

auction day 016

The crowd, and the mud were unreal. 

auction day 031

auction day 027

Our bid number 630.  A sure sign that I wasn’t the only one who woke up with cabin fever.  We left the auction empty-handed.  A good thing I suppose.  We decided as long as we were out and about, we might as well make a day of it.  We took pictures of gigantic bison/or buffalo (how do you tell?) grazing in a field.  Man, have you ever see those things up close?  HUGE…

auction day 034

We went shopping at the dollar store.  Can you say big spender?  I’ll show you my purchase in another post I’m planning. We opted to eat lunch somewhere that we had never ate before, visited the Country Max  and Tractor Supply Store to see all the critters.  And, I found a new buggy I like too.

auction day 079

 

We accidentally came across The Patriot Flag flying in Seneca Falls.  A tribute to all those who perished in 9/11.  This was a truly incredible sight, especially when local firefighters, law enforcement personnel, and citizens crowded the parking lot to memorialize their fallen comrades on such a cold day.

auction day 053

 

 

auction day 069

The last thing we did on our way home?  Stop to take a picture of the some of the white deer at the old Seneca Army Depot.  I  have to wonder about this place.  Tall fences with barbed wire tops keep the people out, and the animals in.

 

auction day 087

You don’t have to go miles away from your home to find interesting things to see.  I hope you enjoyed the adventure, and I challenge everyone to  pick a day, and find things in your own area to enjoy and share.

7 thoughts on “A Day of Adventure

  1. Pingback: The FLX Files | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. This is my favorite part of living up here – the adventures! Although I must say, you are far more adventurous than I am if you’re willing to get up at the crack of dawn and roam about in snow-covered 25-degree mud. I like my adventures with a hefty side of warm sunshine. I’m also a little embarassed that I live in SF and didn’t know anything about this patriot flag gathering!

  3. I love a good auction. Growing up my mom was an antique dealer. In the summer I would trek across the mid-west with her and a trailer in tow. She would fill the trailer up and head back to NM with all her interesting finds.

  4. Oh! I can answer your question. Ha. When my husband and I moved from Alaska to Georgia we stopped along the way in Montana and Wyoming and saw many bison. All North American Bison are Bison. Buffalos are only the Asian Water Buffalo and Cape Buffalo (look them up, they look VERY different than bison) however, the park ranger told us, the terms bison and buffalo are pretty much used interchangeably in America. I guess most people call them buffalo.

    And the more you know! Haha.

Reply

