Lemon Iced Shortbread Cookie Bars

I have come to the realization that I have an addiction – to baking.   That’s the first step right?  Admitting that you have a problem.

I promised myself that I wasn’t going to bake this week because I already have a freezer full of Sinful Midnight Cake and Blueberry Button Donuts.  And here it is, only Monday, and I’ve already fallen off the wagon! 

These Lemon Iced Shortbread Cookie Bars are melt in your mouth delicious – seriously.  Since I was feeling a little guilty about not keeping the promise I made to myself I decided that I’d only make a half of batch of these instead of a full batch.  That should help me with my guilt ridden conscious – right?

*If you want a full batch of these double the recipe.

Lemon Frosted Shortbread Cookie Bars

1 stick of chilled margarine

1/4 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. all-purpose flour, sifted

Lemon Icing

1 tbsp. margarine, softened

1 tbsp. lemon juice, fresh squeezed

2 c. confectionary sugar

Beat ingredients together with electric mixer until smooth and creamy.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Lightly spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray, and line with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, add margarine, sugar, and vanilla.  Beat with electric mixer until creamy.  Add sifted flour, and mix until batter holds together.  Spread batter onto prepared baking sheet making a  square about 5”x 5”.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and immediately cut into desired sizes with a pizza cutter.  Allow to cool and pipe Lemon Icing on top.  *Note, I went easy on the icing so I had some left over; you can be more generous with the icing if you wish. 

How frequently do you bake?  Do you enjoy it?  Or do you despise it?

16 thoughts on “Lemon Iced Shortbread Cookie Bars

    1. Yes, butter will work quite well. Actually, it is recommended for shortbread cookies. I often use margarine when I bake because it’s what I happen to have on hand at the time. Happy baking!

  1. What a delicious looking cookie bar. I would love to make it, sometime, so I’ve bookmarked it. And by the way I really love your photos, they are simple, but elegant. Thanks for sharing and thanks for visiting my blog. I wish you a wonderful week ahead!

  2. Yeah, I’m the same way! I have a freezer full of goodies yet I had to bake a half batch of cookies today 🙂 I’m glad I’m in good company. Bill loves lemon…only second to chocolate, so it’s nice to have your recipe in my repertoire.

  3. Welcome to the club! I have been a card carrying member of the Baking Addiction Club for many years. If I wasn’t a member, these Lemon Bars would surely get me in!

Reply

