Brown Sugar Double Chip Cookies

The Lemon Iced Shortbread Cookie Bars that I made earlier this week are officially gone.  And to be honest, they have been for a while now.  They never made it to the freezer if that tells you anything.  So, my question to you is this; what is a house without cookies in it?  I’d say boring, while you are probably saying healthy.

As I was about to embark on another one of my cookie making adventures I realized that I was nearly out of granulated sugar.  Oh no…  Oh yes!  But have no fear, after you try this recipe you will understand why it really doesn’t matter if you have granulated sugar on hand or not.   It’s brown sugar that makes these cookies shine!

Brown Sugar Double Chip Cookies

1/2 c. margarine, softened

2/3 c. brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

2 tbsp. heavy cream, or milk

1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 c. butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

In a large bowl, cream together margarine, egg, and brown sugar.  Add baking soda, baking powder, salt, and vanilla extract; mix thoroughly.  Add flour and heavy cream and beat until all ingredients are combined.  Fold in chips.

Using a dining teaspoon, drop dough onto cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 7-8 minutes until outside of cookie starts to turn light golden colored.  The middle of the cookie may look slightly undercooked but it will firm up.  Cool completely on the cookie sheets before transferring to storage container or baking rack.  *Storing these in an airtight container makes them extra soft and chewy.

I love the butterscotch and brown sugar flavors combined with the semi-sweet chocolate chips in these cookies.  I think that sometimes butterscotch chips can overpower the flavor of a cookie but they don’t in this recipe. 

What kind of chips do you prefer in your cookies?  Chocolate, white chocolate, peanut butter, butterscotch, cinnamon?

linky-brag-200x200

9 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Double Chip Cookies

  1. Brown sugar makes everything taste better, and I love butterscotch. Add in chocolate, and I say you’ve got a winner! Are there really cinnamon chips? I think those might turn out to be my faves!

  2. Eileen….so lucky that you ran out of granulated sugar. I bet the brown sugar gave this a rich, sweet flavor! To be honest with you….I’ve never tried butterscotch chips in baking yet. I guess it’s time! These cookies look really fabulous. Great photos! And my chips? Either dark or milk chocolate. Yeah…I’m boring like that! Ha! : )

  3. Oh yum, love love working with brown sugar, and love adding butterscotch chips to cookies! Your cookies look so light and fluffy! Hugs, Terra

Reply

