Palm Leaf what? And MarxFoods.com who?

When MarxFoods.com was offering free samples of Palm Leaf plates curiosity got the best of me.  Palm Leaf plates?  I’d never heard of them, nor had I heard of MarxFoods.com for that matter – but then again, I do live a sheltered life.

I emailed Justin Marx, CEO of MarxFoods.com and  told him I was interested in the free sample and he promptly responded to my email, assuring  me he would send me a sample for review. 

This was too cool.  I love free samples.  Who doesn’t?  I watched for a delivery every day until  the package arrived.  I know it sounds corny.  When the UPS driver pulled into our driveway I knew it had to be my Palm Leaf plates – I wasn’t expecting anything else, and I never get packages.  It was like Christmas, well almost… The box was even marked with the words “Goodies Inside!” It couldn’t get any better than this.  Isn’t it funny how receiving a simple brown box can make some people’s day?

  

Now, I have to admit that after I ordered the free samples, and before they arrived, I decided to learn more about the company that was sending them to me so I visited their website  http://www.marxfoods.com/

I immediately liked their style.  One thing that caught my attention from the start was the immediate response I got from Justin.  After all, I was just begging for a free sample.  Imagine if I was a paying customer.  According to the company’s website they are a family run business with everyone playing an integral part.  They started out supplying high-end restaurants with all kinds unique  products, and have expanded their sales to everyone.   Their list of products is so impressive I can’t begin to name them all,  but it appears that  if  you want it, they got it, and if they don’t have it, they will find it.   Organic foods, free range meats, spices, cheeses, pastas, seafood, salts,  the list goes on and on.  They even carry vanilla beans.  I have been wondering where to get those for – like – forever now.  All I can say is you have to see for yourself by visiting  their products site  http://www.marxfoods.com/products

Now, about the plates.  I received 5 large, and 5 small plates.  They were comparable to a dinner plate, and a salad plate – with a little edge on them creating a bowl like feel.   The are unique plates, and I couldn’t help but think that Swiss Family Robinson, or someone shipwrecked on Gilligan’s Island might have had something to do with their creation. 

These  plates are made from a natural and renewable resource. The sheaths of the leaves of the Adaka palm tree are collected from the forest floor and used, no trees are cut down to make them.  The plates are biodegradable and compostable. 

To put mine to the test I decided to use them at dinner time – sitting in front of the tv – holding it on my lap while I ate.  Like you would at a picnic.  I really wanted to test their strength.   For this challenge I made angel hair pasta with meat sauce, sliced fresh-cut cucumbers and served Italian bread. 

As it turned out I was rather impressed.  The plates are large enough to hold your food.  They withstood the hot pasta very well, and I didn’t have to wrestle to keep the food on my plate (like you do with other disposable dinnerware.)  The meal even looked inviting served on them. 

With all said and done, I think the Palm Leaf plates are very practical.  I would prefer them over the alternatives for picnics, and events where you don’t have a table in front of you (and Island theme parties).  If I hadn’t stained mine with sauce I might have been inclined to wash it and re-use it again.  I know what you’re thinking – yes, I’m one of those kind – sometimes…  To see all the different sizes and shapes of plates and cutlery available go to the following link.  http://www.marxfoods.com/products/Eco-Friendly-Plates

Thanks MarxFoods.com for the chance to interact with your company, and the free samples!

6 thoughts on “Palm Leaf what? And MarxFoods.com who?

Reply