The peaches aren’t ready, but – summer apples are!

There’s a story behind these apples and muffins.
Jersey-Macs

 

Apple Oatmeal Muffins

 

I asked my friends what I should do with some fresh peaches I had on hand.  I got the greatest  ideas from everyone.  People thinking outside the box (I was stuck in).  Sommer suggested soup – I hadn’t thought of that – sounds delicious.  Dennis suggested grilling them – I never in a million years would have thought of that one.  I especially liked the idea of grilling them and then topping them with vanilla ice cream, and maybe a dash of cinnamon.  Kristen suggested peach syrup – hadn’t thought of that either, and Molly backed Kristen up on the syrup idea.   

So, here is the scoop on the peaches.  They were so fragrant and ripe I couldn’t stand it another minute.  I peeled them, and sprinkled a little  sugar on them and we ate them – end of story.  Feeling guilty that I’d asked my friends for help and then ate them without using a single idea, I stopped tonight to get more.  The grower told me they did not pick them today.  They need a day or two longer to ripen.  Hmmm….  Another fine mess I’ve gotten myself into!  What were my friends going to think of me now?  

As I was chatting with the grower I noticed fresh apples on his wagon.  He went on to explain they were summer apples.  Jersey Macs.  He said they were pretty good, slightly tart, and his wife had just made a pie with them.   When I asked if they were good for eating he suggested I sample one.  Instead of sampling, I bought some ($2.00 for a peck) –  a great deal.  

Now I had to come up with my own idea.  There was no way I could ask again.  Rifling through my cookbooks I found a recipe for oatmeal muffins.  If I did a little re-vamping I could make  apple oatmeal muffins.  Then I would have breakfast ready for tomorrow, and something to share.   

The recipe was adapted from the Betty Crocker Cookbook.  

1 egg (I used two small eggs  produced by our very own chickens)  

1 cup of buttermilk (I used 1 cup of heavy cream)  

1/2 cup brown sugar – packed  

1/3 cup shortening (I used soft margarine)  

1 cup of quick-cooking oats  

1 cup flour  

1 tsp baking powder  

1 tsp salt  

1/2 tsp soda  

2 small apples grated (about 1 cup)  

1/2 tsp cinnamon  

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease medium muffin tins – I used baking sheets.  Beat egg, buttermilk, brown sugar, and shortening.  Mix remaining ingredients together.  Fill tin 2/3 full.   I opted for a topping of oats, brown sugar and cinnamon (which I didn’t measure out) Sprinkle on top of batter before baking.  Bake 20-25 mins.  Immediately remove from pan.  

Makes 12 muffins (I didn’t get that many)…  

I now know how Eve felt after eating the forbidden fruit!  Sorry guys – and thanks for all your ideas…

6 thoughts on “The peaches aren’t ready, but – summer apples are!

  1. Pingback: Apples and oranges help make a great holiday food gift « The Joy of Caking

  2. I’d have eaten the peaches straight, too! There is nothing like a tree ripened peach. Those apple oat muffins sound lovely. Oatmeal always adds a heartiness to any food.

Reply

