Grilled Brussel Sprouts

I love vegetables cooked on the grill.   Asparagus, corn on the cob, brussel sprouts, you name it.  As I was par-boiling brussel sprouts last night I told my hubby that as soon as I was finished with them they were all his.  The truth is, it’s not uncommon for me to do the prep work in our kitchen and then turn things over to him for seasoning, or to put his finishing touches on.  He enjoys cooking and creating in the kitchen as much as I do so we often make it a team effort.

Shortly after I told him I was turning the brussel sprouts over to him I saw him swing into action.  Working with olive oil, red wine vinegar, a variety of herbs and spices, and chopped garlic he whipped up a sauce  to marinate them in while grilling.  When the aroma from the grill drew me outside to the deck I was surprised at what I found.  Brussel spouts on skewers. 

What a great idea.  I know this sounds silly but I don’t think I would have thought of that unless I saw a recipe, photo, or was served them in that fashion (which I since have).  I hadn’t intended to use the spouts as a post on my blog but I was impressed.  My hubby is a great cook and I’m not surprised by the good eats he produces, but the concept of using skewers to cook brussel spouts taught me something new – don’t hide the skewers – use them!  

The skewers helped cook the brussel spouts to perfection.  They made it easy to turn them on the grill, and each side got a chance at the marinade.   Deliziosa! 

8 thoughts on “Grilled Brussel Sprouts

Reply

