Vanilla Cream Pie

Pick your poison: Banana Cream, Coconut Cream, Almond Cream, Chocolate Cream, Butterscotch Cream, or Vanilla Cream Pie.  And so I did; Vanilla Cream Pie.

vanilla cream pie B

This pie is so simple, yet so rich and creamy.  It has a hint of old-fashioned to it – which I like.  Nothing fancy or extravagant, just pure deliciousness. 

This recipe comes from Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook.   I increased the vanilla extract in the recipe by 1/2 teaspoon.

vanilla extractA

You will need one 9” prepared pie crust.  I used a recipe for my pie crust out of the same cookbook.

vanilla cream pie 048

Vanilla Cream Pie (Original Recipe)

2/3 c. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 1/2 tbsp. cornstarch

1 tbsp. all-purpose flour

3 c. milk

3 eggs, slightly beaten

1 tbsp. butter

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix in a large saucepan; sugar, salt, cornstarch, and flour.  Gradually stir in milk.  Heat mixture over moderate heat (stirring constantly) until it thickens and boils.  Boil 1 minute.

Remove from heat.  Slowly stir half the mixture into the beaten eggs.  Then blend the hot egg mixture back into the saucepan.  Return to heat and bring to boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly. 

Remove from heat, add butter and vanilla.  Pour into prepared pie crust.  Chill for two hours before serving.  Top with whipped cream, toasted nuts or coconut, or fresh fruit. 

I topped my pie with homemade vanilla-cinnamon whipped cream – yum!

I want to thank Mike and Molly again for the bottle of their homemade vanilla that I won in their give-away last winter.   It  is awesome and ranks right up there with the more expensive brands that I often purchase.  Thanks guys!

19 thoughts on “Vanilla Cream Pie

  1. Pingback: Weekend Potluck 31 – Sunflower Supper Club 3

  2. Pingback: Pie Crazy–Red Raspberry Pie Filling | THE JOY OF CAKING

  3. Pingback: Weekend Potluck: August 17th ~ 19th | Meet Penny

    1. Thank you Lisa. The vanilla is homemade. Blogging friends of mine made it and hosted a give-away. I was lucky enough to have won. The link to their blog is at the bottom of my post. Go check it out. The vanilla is delicious!

Reply