Thanksgiving Day Dinner Rolls?

felt, rolls, choc chip shortbreads 127

If there is one thing I have a hard time doing every Thanksgiving,  it’s buying dinner rolls.  I think homemade rolls taste so much better than store-bought.  And why spend money on something that you can make for pennies?

I made these rolls last week as a trial run for Thanksgiving.  I served them with a big batch of homemade soup that I made the same day.  The two went hand in hand.  Unfortunately, the soup got eaten up so quickly that I never got a single pictures of it.

Have no fear, I will be making that soup again.  It was fantastic and it is now one of our favorites. 

This recipe was adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook. 

felt, rolls, choc chip shortbreads 137

Traditional Dinner Rolls

1 package of active dry yeast (I used 2 1/2 tsp.)

1/4 c. warm water (105 – 115 degrees)

3/4 c. lukewarm milk (scalded then cooled)

2 tbsp. granulated sugar

1 tbsp. honey

1 tsp. salt

1 egg

1/4 c. margarine, softened

3 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour (plus extra for kneading)

Dissolve yeast in warm water.  Stir in milk, sugar, salt, egg, margarine, and 2 cups of flour.  Mix until smooth.  Add remaining flour and mix completely.

Place dough onto lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic – about 5 minutes.  Place in greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let rise until doubled.

Punch down dough; divide in half.  Lightly flour your hands and make desired shaped rolls.  Place in greased baking pans and let rise for about 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.   Bake for about 15-20 minutes until golden brown.  Remove from oven and lightly brush rolls with olive oil.  Cool on baking rack before removing from pans.

Makes about 1 dozen clover rolls.

Are you worried you won’t have enough time to make homemade rolls for Thanksgiving dinner?  Make them ahead of time, and  store in them in the  freezer until Thanksgiving morning – just thaw, warm, and serve. 

Which category do you fall into.  Intimidated by, or comfortable  making homemade bread or rolls? 

Do you have your Thanksgiving meal planned?

 

8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Day Dinner Rolls?

  1. Intimidated by and still working on my menu. My challenge is to not overdo it. I am determwined to conquer my yeast fear very soon. I hope my rolls turn out as gorgeous as yours.

Reply