Four Interesting Things About the Black-Eyed Susan

These bright flowers, the black-eyed Susan, (botanical name – Rudbeckia hirta) were just begging me to take their picture this afternoon, so I obliged.  And as I was writing this post I realized that I knew very little about them.  A quick search of Wikipedia produced some interesting information.

1.)  It was decided in 1918 that the black-eyed Susan would be Maryland’s state flower.

2.)  The black-eyed Susan symbolized “Justice”.

3.)  In traditional medicine, the roots of the black-eyed Susan are used an astringent wash to treat sores and swelling.  The Native Americans used the root as a poultice for snake bites, as an infusion for treating colds and worms in children, as a diuretic, and the juice of the roots has also been used for earaches.

4.)  There are several variations of a cocktail named the Black-Eyed Susan.  One variation is the official drink of the Preakness horserace.  Here is the Preakness’ official recipe.

What is your favorite flower?

11 thoughts on “Four Interesting Things About the Black-Eyed Susan

  1. Pingback: Rudbeckia | Photomiser

  2. Such beautiful blooms Eileen! I’m glad you decided to capture them…and then share these facts with us! I lived in Maryland briefly but had no idea it was the state flower. I love peonies…they are probably my favorite…but sunflowers would be a close second!

    1. Monet, I know sunflowers are hard for me to resist too. We have a lot of them growing in our area now and I have to remember to take my camera with me to get some shots of them before they wither away. Have a great week and hug Lucy for me 🙂

  3. I love black-eyed susans…Had them at one house and they grew like wildfire. Tried them at this house…they never took off. I really must try again. It’s so hard to name a favorite flower — kind of like picking a favorite fruit, or dessert, but I’d have to say my top two are lilies and tulips.

  4. Such lovely photos Eileen! How did I not know that these were my state’s flower!? They are so cheerful….kind of like the whisper of a sunflower. Gosh, I have several flowers that I love. I agree with Victoria, I like the vintage charm of a peony. I also like pansies because they are so delicate yet pretty hardy. But my absolute favorite, which most people think of as a cheap, filler flower….is the carnation. I just love that scent! : )

  5. Lovely photos…and flowers! An interesting drink and recipe. The lemongrass blackberry simple syrup…must have it’s own recipe? And…the sage leaf suggests an earthy finish. Sounds tasty! I would agree that it would be difficult to choose a favorite flower but a new favored flower for me…peonies. They have a vintage charm about them. 🙂

    1. Thanks Victoria,

      That drink does sound complex but tasty. I love peonies too. I have a couple peonie bushes and I’d love to get some more. The don’t stay in bloom long – that’s the down side to them. Thanks for dropping by!

  6. I will always remember the justice. I like that. I never knew these flowers had such a name and a history. So beautiful but not in a flashy pretentious way. A natural beauty. 🙂 I don’t think I could ever chose a favorite flower but I do enjoy poppy’s in the big bouquets from the market.

    1. I will remember the symbolism of this flower too Dionne. Funny how some things stick solidly in our minds while others just slip on by – lol. Poppies are beautiful. I tried to grow some once but I think I cut them all down before they blossomed thinking the were weeds – duh!

Reply