Country Cute Valentine’s Day Garland

vanilla and hears 027

When I was in  high school, Valentine’s Day was centered around a huge carnation sale.   Every girl would anxiously watch to see who got the most red (I love you), pink (I like you), and white (just friends) carnations on that day.

Sadly, if I ever got a carnation it was from my mother who knew the toll the day usually took on me.  It wasn’t easy watching  some of the girls receive so many flowers that they needed a floral van to get them all home. 

Having gone through the pains of realizing I was never going to be one of those girls who needed a floral van, I am amazingly still a romantic at heart.   Lately, I have been aching to make a rich, chocolate dessert as a trial run for this years Valentine’s Day celebration.  However, I’ve also been trying to be good and avoid extra calories so I’ve limited myself to creating a non-fattening Valentine’s Day projects instead.  Please stick with me – one of these days my willpower will break and I will produce something much more irresistible than paper heart garland.  I promise!

For this project I used my Cricut

To make this project you will need:

Six – 4” hearts (as shown) cut from card stock

Six – 1” hearts (as shown) cut from a pretty print paper

Six – small strips of paper folded in half (glue on the back of each heart to string the rick rack through)

Six small buttons (you can use the same color, or mix and match like I did)

A Valentine’s theme stamp

Ink Pad

Embroidery thread

Thick needle

Rick Rack

Glue

Instructions:

Glue the small 1” hearts to the larger 4 “hearts.  Sew the buttons onto the 1” hearts.  Glue the small strips of paper to the backs of each 4” heart.  Stamp your 4” hearts last so you avoid smudging the ink.  Let everything dry thoroughly and string the hearts on a piece of rick rack that’s been cut to your desired length.

vanilla and hears 024

vanilla and hears 017

Are you a romantic?  Do you enjoy celebrating Valentine’s Day?

6 thoughts on “Country Cute Valentine’s Day Garland

  1. That is super cute! You were right you have been creative lately! I am certainly not a romantic. I am all for expressing feelings but I do not like to be spoiled or be the center of attention.

  2. I love your hearts and after reading this post I want to give you a hug! I hated Valentines Day at school. One year after watching the torture from previous years the teacher said that if you gave one card you had to give a card to every child. It was better but the creepy kids still made a difference by giving cheap ugly cards to the kids who were on the outside of the cliques.

    1. I think you would save a bundle of time and money Sandra. You do so much decorating it would probably be a great investment. I can only imagine all the great projects you would come up with.

Reply