Old-Fashioned Blueberry Custard Pie

In my last post I left you all hanging.  I promised you more information about an old-fashioned blueberry custard pie I had made after picking fresh blueberries. Here is the continuation as promised.

I decided to make a custard pie for several reasons.  The first reason, our chickens are out doing themselves in egg production these days.  The second reason, I haven’t had a piece of old-fashioned custard pie since I was a little girl. And thirdly, I wanted to pick blueberries but needed an excuse to make something oh – so comforting with them.

With no recipe in my recipe box for a custard pie I decided to search on-line for one.  The first recipe I came to was submitted to Food.com by Michelle S – and it looked like a winner.  There were great reviews and the recipe sounded so easy.  I figured what the heck, I’d give it a try.

The only problem with the recipe? I didn’t have any evaporated milk on hand and the recipe called for it.  I thought about running to the store for a brief second and then I decided to do a little more research.  I found other recipes that didn’t call for evaporated milk so I decided to go ahead and make it with the skim milk I had on hand. 

What I liked about this recipe?  You use a pre-baked pie shell, you dump your berries directly into the pie shell, and in a separate bowl you mix your eggs, milk, sugar, flour and vanilla together. Once your egg mixture is ready you pour it over the berries and it’s ready for the oven.  Easy, easy, easy….

I could barely wait for it to cool before I sampled it.  And then there was the moment of truth.  Would this recipe stand up to the great reputation it had seemed to earn? 

blueberry custard pie 027

blueberry custard pie 002

The pie was DELICIOUS!   Perfect – not too custardy, lots of fruit, and sweet and smooth – no disappointments.  This pie definitely lived up to it’s given reputation.

blueberry custard pie 017

blueberry custard pie 026

This is one of those times that I couldn’t finish taking pictures without tasting.  As you can see, one taste lead to another and another.

This pie would be great made with other berries too. I’m thinking a red raspberry custard pie is in my future.

15 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Blueberry Custard Pie

  1. Pingback: Pie Crazy–Red Raspberry Pie Filling | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. Pingback: Red Raspberry Custard Pie with Vanilla Crumb Crust «

  3. This post should come with a warning label! I hadn’t lunch yet and made the mistake of reading this and ogling over the pictures…now all I want is this pie. Looks amazing!

    -Erin

  4. This does look just about perfect. I adore a good blueberry pie, and I’m always looking for new recipes. Thank you for sharing this delicious treat! I hope you had a great Thursday…the weekend is almost here!

Reply