Crusted Garlic Parmesan Roasted Chicken From The Fall Harvest Dinner

I hope you made it to The Fall Harvest Dinner that my great blogger friends and I hosted yesterday?  If you didn’t, then please rewind for a minute and check it out before you continue reading this post.  You won’t want to miss the beautifully decorated fall table, tasty cocktail, yummy appetizers, scrumptious salad and side dish, soft and delicious homemade bread and rolls, and sweet dessert that was shared there.  Recipes are available for each dish featured in our Fall Harvest Dinner, along with Sandra’s table setting tips, at each individual blog.  Just follow the links I’ve included in that post to access them.

My contribution to our dinner party was a Crusted Garlic Parmesan Roasted Chicken.  Autumn is the perfect time to start roasting meats and chicken is no exception. This is an easy dish to make and a relatively inexpensive way to feed a hungry crowd.  The recipe and baking instructions come straight from the cook (hubby) in this house, not (me) the baker.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Remove the giblets and discard them.  Rinse and dry the chicken.   Place the chicken in a large roasting pan; drizzle olive oil, honey, and red wine vinegar on top.  Crush 4 cloves of garlic and sprinkle onto the chicken.  

In a bowl, mix together seasoning consisting of 2 tbsp. dried basil, 1 tbsp. Italian seasoning, 2 tbsp. parmesan cheese, 2 tsp. five pepper spice, 2 tsp. celery salt, and 1 tbsp. of dried cilantro.

Generously sprinkle seasoning over the chicken and into the roasting pan. 

Slice one medium onion, and chop the very top of a head of celery (including the leaves).

Cover the chicken with the vegetables.

roast chicken halloween decor hot dog roll 028

Fill the roasting pan 1/4 of the way full with water or chicken broth.  Place chicken in preheated oven and bake until internal temperature of chicken is 180 degrees.  For the size of the chicken hubby baked it took 2 hours.

Remove from oven and allow meat rest for about 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.

Slice and serve.

This chicken is baked just like I like it.  Moist inside and crusty on the outside – yum! 

What’s your favorite meat to roast?  Beef, pork, lamb, turkey, ham, or chicken?

linky-brag-200x200

weekend-potluck-buttong

14 thoughts on “Crusted Garlic Parmesan Roasted Chicken From The Fall Harvest Dinner

  1. Hi Eileen! Terrific Fall Harvest Dinner – so to celebrate…. You’ve been featured on BeBetsy at the BRAG ABOUT IT No. 27

    Thanks for linking up with us. Have a fun HALLOWEEN!

    Sharon and Denise ♥

  2. I already saved this on Pinterest, and told hubby we need to make this! Love everything about this delicious recipe! Thank you so much for putting this dinner together, you are fantastic:-) It was wonderful to meet some lovely new bloggers at the dinner! Hugs, Terra

  3. Hello sweet friend. What a joy to be part of the dinner…and what a wonderful main dish you shared with us! This looks heavenly. Ryan and I both agree that we’ll be making it early next week. Thank you for sharing! I love the pamesan and garlic here!

  4. This looks wonderful and I pinned it to try. Roast chicken is m favorite dish to prepare because it gives us 3 meals plus rich stock from the carcass. Your recipe is not like anything I’ve done with roast chicken so I can’t wait to try it! I came over from Amy and love this virtual dinner party y’all put on!

  5. We eat a lot of chicken, and I am always looking for new recipes. This sounds a-MAZ-ing! I bet it smells absolutely wonderful while it’s roasting. Your hubby should “guest-chef” on your blog more often! Thanks again for inviting me to be a part of your fabulous Fall Harvest Dinner!

  6. I will be looking for the biggest, plumpish chicken I can find. Many thanks to your Mr for this recipe. So many flavors and I know the kitchen smelled yummy. Thank you also for including me in the Fall Dinner. It was fun and I hope we can do it again.

  7. I’d probably end up pulling all the skin off the chicken, eating that and not sharing it at all. But then, I’m selfish that way! This looks absolutely delicious! I’m excited to give it a try.

  8. That chicken looks absolutely amazing, Eileen! There is nothing so satisfying as a roasted chicken. I have a habit of picking off the crunchy skin while I’m getting ready to carve. I’m afraid with the parmesan crust….the poor chicken would be naked when it came time to serve! It was such a lovely dinner and I’m so happy you invited me! (oh….and I love that bowl that you are roasting the chicken in…pretty!)

Reply