Simple & Healthy Ingredients Make For Delicious Mediterranean Style Salad Dressing

So, welcome 2015! 

Like many people who make new year resolutions, eating healthier options of the things I like always tops my list.  I’m always optimistic coming out of the gate but somewhere along the line I start lose my momentum, fall off the wagon, and resort to my old (not so wise) eating habits.  I vow every year that “this year is going to be different”.   And in the end, I’ve only fooled myself into believing that I could forgo delicious sweets, homemade bread, second helpings of my favorite dish of macaroni and cheese, and of course the great wines found here in the Finger Lakes Region and abroad. 

But… In a good faith effort to try try again, I’m sharing a recipe I found at The Pioneer Woman’s blog for a healthy and delicious homemade salad dressing she has named Aunt Trish’s Salad Dressing.  I made a couple adaptations to the original recipe.

I decided that Aunt Trish’s dressing has a Mediterranean taste to it – which I love.  It tastes so fresh and healthy, and the fact that there are no preservatives makes it all the better.  I do have to warn you that this recipe makes a considerably small batch.  My suggestion is to double or triple the recipe because I’m sure it will keep well in the fridge for a week or two – if it lasts that long!  At some point you may want to remove the garlic if you don’t want garlic overkill.

Mediterranean Style Salad Dressing ( This recipe is adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

3/4 c. olive oil

Juice of 2 lemons

4 tbsp. of freshly grated parmesan cheese

Pinch of salt & pepper

Dash of paprika

1/2 tsp. honey

2 whole cloves of garlic (peeled and cut in half)

Put all ingredients together in a jar or dressing shaker and shake until mixed.  Refrigerate for 24 hours before serving.

 

Have you made any new year resolutions?  If so, what are they?  Do you think you’ll stick to them?

8 thoughts on “Simple & Healthy Ingredients Make For Delicious Mediterranean Style Salad Dressing

  1. Happy New Year Eileen! And good for you for starting the year off right! While I won’t change my diet completely, I do vow to eat more salads throughout the year. And this dressing looks perfect to dress up any number of greens! I need to send you an email soon and catch up! : )

  2. Yum! Thanks for sharing! I love making my own salad dressings so I’m excited to give this a shot.

    I did make some New Year’s resolutions this year. I want to read more, to keep up with my blog and get involved in the blogging community, and compliment people more just to name a few. I think I can manage to stick to them. Here’s to hoping!

  3. I haven’t officially made any resolutions, but I must get my eating under control! I tried to lose a few pounds before I went on vacation, but I put them back on when I was away! I am pinning this dressing – it sounds delicious!

Reply

