Country Apple Caramel Sauce

Do you ever have insatiable sweet tooth won’t stop aching?   I seem to have one more times than not – like last week for example.  When my sweet tooth is screaming, I usually search for a quick and easy solution.  This Country Apple Caramel Sauce is both – quick and easy.  It will surely stop any insatiable sweet tooth from aching dead in it’s tracks – I promise!

Country Apple Caramel Sauce

5-6 apples peeled, cored, and sliced (use an apple that you favor)

1/4 stick of butter

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. skim milk

a couple dashes of salt

2 tbsp. cornstarch, set aside

2 tsp. vanilla extract

In a large skillet, melt butter on low heat.  Add sliced apples and sauté until tender.  Stir in brown sugar, milk, and salt; cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Turn heat to low.  In a separate bowl, add cornstarch and add 1/4 c. of the hot apple mixture; mix thoroughly.  Pour cornstarch mixture into apple mixture and cook until apple mixture thickens.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.

Serve warm on top of your favorite ice cream or cake.

I’m also thinking sauce would taste great churned into a homemade ice cream with a pieces of pie crust thrown in.  Homemade Apple Pie Ice Cream here I come!

Looking for an apple topping with a little kick in it?  Check out my recipe for Apple Rum Ice Cream Topping.

weekend-potluck-buttong

11 thoughts on “Country Apple Caramel Sauce

  1. I want a big bite of this…now! =) Looks wonderful!! Thanks so much for sharing at Weekend Potluck. Please come back soon. (Psst – don’t think the WP button is working…it took me to a Frontier page…maybe just use the link up as words from now on?) So glad you tried to link back. Looking forward to seeing you next week.

    1. Thanks Marsha! I just fixed the link. There was some extra text in there that shouldn’t have been. Thanks so much for brining it to my attention 🙂 And thanks for hosting such a fun party every week!

  2. Yum! Anything with caramel and apples makes me happy! I just made a cheesecake with a layer of caramelized apples. SO GOOD! This sauce looks heavenly. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Reply

