Food and Tablescape Photographer Props at the Mercantile

Welcome back to the Mercantile!  Last month’s item (craft & sewing notions) was geared for the crafty folks out there.  I’m happy to report that the notion’s jar will soon have a new home – yea!  I suspect that this month’s items up for sale will most likely to capture the attention of both food and tablescape photographers.

This month’s lot includes four salad forks that are marked Oxford Silver Plate E.P.N.S.   If you aren’t sure what E.P.N.S. means let me give you a quick lesson.

E.P.N.S. means that the flatware is “Electro Plated Nickel Silver”. Nickel Silver is the base metal onto which silver is plated. Nickel silver does not contain silver, rather It is an alloy of nickel, zinc & copper. A layer of pure silver is electro plated over the base metal to give it a silver finish.  E.P.N.S. can be re-plated when it loses it’s silver colored finish.  These forks look worn and tarnished where the silver finish is missing which gives them a neat rustic look.

I have to admit that I had a hard time deciding if I should part with these pretty little forks because I love their simple, but elegant design. 

Along with the four salad forks, I’m also including what I believe to be three master butter knives.  If I’m correct (and please correct me if I’m wrong) these knives were used exclusively to cut butter, not to spread it – that’s because they have a sharper point.  Two of the three knives tips appear to have been bent slightly at some point in their long history.  Please note that I could not find any markings on these knives but I believe they are also silver plated because they have the tarnish spots too.  I cleaned both the forks and knives with a silver cleaner and  the pictures depict what the items look like after cleaning them.

knives 004

This sale is being conducted as a silent auction. If you are interested in bidding on this item simply follow the link at the bottom of the page which will take you to my contact form. On that form, please include the words FOOD AND TABLESCAPE PHOTOGRAPHER PROPS in the comment box, along with the highest price in US Dollars that you are willing to pay for the item up for auction. Please note that there is a minimum bid price of $2.99.

Once the sale has concluded, the item will go to the highest bidder, and I will contact (them) to make arrangements for payment and shipping. All shipping costs will be the buyers responsibility.

If you have any questions about this sale please contact me prior to making your bid and I’ll do my best to answer your questions. Once bids are made they are final.

Here is the contact form if you would like to place a bid. This sale will officially end at 11PM Eastern Standard Time on Thursday, October 31, 2013.  Again, upon completion of the sale I will contact the highest bidder.

Other sale terms.

* In the event that there is a tie in the bidding of this item, (example, two people place the same highest bid) the first highest bidder will win the sale. Lucky number one!

* Seller has the right to cancel this sale at any time without prior notice – but will probably never have to do that because civilized people come to my blog Smile

* All items sold as is. Nothing in this world is perfect – is it?

* All sales final. Goodbye and farewell items. You’re out of my attic!

* Spam messages will be discarded – as usual.

Thanks for stopping by the Mercantile, and good luck and happy bidding!

10 thoughts on “Food and Tablescape Photographer Props at the Mercantile

  1. Oh Eileen….I LOVE those forks!!!! Dare I??? The Mercantile is such a fabulous concept. But I’d be hard pressed to part with some of my favorites right now, too. And your black and white pictures are awesome! (Oh…..I can’t stop thinking about those forks!)

    1. Thanks Anne! I really wanted to post all of the pics in black & white but I knew that wouldn’t be fair to potential buyers. You were the first person that came to mind when I dug out these forks – I just love the photo props you use, and your photographs are always amazing!

Reply

