Homestead Peach Hand Pie

Friends of ours sent us home with a bag of their homegrown peaches from their small homestead orchard.  They are good people, and their generosity put me on cloud nine.  I haven’t had nearly enough peaches to quench my craving for them this summer.  In fact, this is the first peach recipe I’ve posted and that is just wrong!

Now, some of you are going to argue that a pie should be round and in a pie plate.  And I might have been inclined to agree with you until I got it in my head that I was going to make a square hand pie.

I really like how easy this pie went together and I think you will too.  Minimal crust wrestling required.

 

For this recipe you will need to make your favorite double pie crust recipe.  *Keep dough refrigerated until you have prepared your fruit filling.

Peach Pie Filling

9 small peaches, peeled, pitted, and thinly sliced

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

2 dashes of nutmeg

1 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. chilled butter

Mix all ingredients together (except butter) and set aside.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.  *Don’t skip the parchment paper because it will catch all the bubbly goodness and will keep your pie from sticking to the baking sheet.

Divide refrigerated pastry dough in half.  On a lightly floured surface, roll the bottom crust into square that will be slightly larger than the top piece; trim edges to square it up if necessary. Place on the prepared baking sheet.  Spoon peach filling on top of bottom pie crust, being careful to keep the fruit and juice on the crust.   Divide and distribute the tbsp. of butter equally over the fruit filling.

Roll the second crust out; trimming edges if necessary.  Place 2nd crust on top of the pie filling.  Use a fork to seal the edges together.

Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees and lower the heat to 350 degrees.  Bake for an additional 12-15 minutes, or until crust is light golden brown.  Remove from oven and sprinkle sugar on top. Allow to cool completely before cutting.

.

This pie is not overly sweet and that was deliberate on my part.  If you’d like it a little sweeter then just increase your sugar by 1/4 cup.

Peach and apple pie are my favorite fruit pies.  Do you have a favorite?

If you’re looking for a delicious peach pie recipe –  click here!

linky-brag-200x200

weekend-potluck-buttong

8 thoughts on “Homestead Peach Hand Pie

  1. I will not argue I promise, a pie can be any shape in my opinion! Honestly, I love the idea of making a pie this way, it sounds so fun to make! Your recipe sounds wonderful, AND I do adore fresh peaches! Yum, Hugs, Terra

  2. Hello! What a wonderful twist on the classic Peach pie. I love the square shape. I hope you have a wonderful start to your week. Thank you for brightening mine!

Reply

