One Rise Honey Rye Skillet Rolls

A while ago I favorited a recipe from the blog Kolpona Cuisine for Cast Iron Skillet Quick Rise Rolls.   The rolls looked super moist, buttery and only required one rise.  So today, on a day that felt like one of the most humid days of this year, I found myself in the kitchen making these.

Tahmina’s recipe called for the rolls to be baked in a cast iron skillet which I loved the thought of since I love rustic.  *Note – I wouldn’t be afraid to make them in a glass baking dish if that’s all you have on hand.  Because I was a little short on all-purpose white flour I opted to use both rye flour and all-purpose flour.  I could imagine how the rye flour and the honey (that the recipe calls for) would compliment each other, and I was right.  

If you like rolls that are heavier, super moist, chewy, and only requires a 20 minute rise, then this is the recipe for you. 

I did not use a mixer to make my rolls.  I mixed the dough the old-fashioned way; by hand.  Because of this, I kneaded the dough slightly before rolling into balls. .

These are belly filling, stick to your ribs kind of rolls.  I found them perfect for sopping up the left over barbecue sauce left on my plate from my hubbies famous pork ribs.

13 thoughts on “One Rise Honey Rye Skillet Rolls

  1. What really impresses me is that you could “imagine” how the rye flour and honey would compliment each other — that is way outside my skill set! These look absolutely yummy, and I would love one right now slathered in butter.

    1. It’s been about that long since I’ve used mine – lol! I use to make potatoes in it but somewhere along the line I lost track of it. When I found this recipe I went on a scavenger hunt to find it 🙂 I’m not putting it away either!

  2. Hmmmm……YUM! I love the idea of making them in a cast iron skillet, so good! They would be perfect for this traveling girl, perfect snack:-) They look so delicious, Hugs, Terra

Reply

