Crockpot Apple Crisp

Fall is fast approaching here in the Finger Lakes Region and apples are a big thing in my neck of the woods.  And as luck would have it, New York State is the 2nd largest apple producing state in this country.  We have beautiful apple farms to go apple picking at, fun and tasty apple festivals to entertain us and help keep our bellies full, and this year I am hoping hubby and I can make our way to Wayne County for their 16th annual apple tasting tour which sounds like loads of fun to me.

So, in honor of our soon to be autumn, I decided to cheer it on with a  delicious warm and gooey apple dessert.

This dessert is perfect for those days when you don’t feel like turning on your oven, or if you need a dish simple dish to pass but don’t have a lot of time to fuss.  Top it off with a scoop of your favorite vanilla ice cream or dollop of homemade whipped cream and it just keeps getting better!

This dessert recipe is adapted from Food.com.   My adaptation appears below.  If you prefer the original recipe just follow the previous link.  This recipe makes about 6 servings.

Crockpot Apple Crisp

5 Cortland apples, peeled, cored, and sliced

1 c. old-fashioned oatmeal

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. granulated sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. margarine or butter, melted

Generously grease a medium sized crockpot with non-stick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, add all ingredients except apples; mix thoroughly.  Layer half of the sliced apples on the bottom of the crockpot and top the apples with half of the oatmeal mixture.  Repeat with remaining apples and oatmeal mixture.

Place the lid on crockpot and bake on high for 2-3 hours, or until apples are tender. I stirred the dessert a couple times while it was baking. Turn crockpot off and stir once.  Keep covered and allow dessert to sit until ready to serve.

This dessert is a winner in my book.  Fix it, and nearly forget it.  I shared this with my husband’s family and there wasn’t even a spoonful leftover.  I consider that a good thing!!

What is your favorite apple?

weekend-potluck-buttong

linky-brag-200x200

MARVELOUSMONDAYSBUTTON

28 thoughts on “Crockpot Apple Crisp

  1. Pingback: apple crisp joy the baker | Inspiring

  2. Pingback: Sour Cream Pumpkin Spiced Doughnut Holes | THE JOY OF CAKING

  3. Pingback: 30 Slow Cooking Crock Pot Desserts - JoJo and Eloise

  4. Thank you for this, it is absolutely wonderful. I will be making as our family gathers for Thanksgiving week. I plan to make for brunch with an oven egg omelet. I prepared everything the evening before, used a lemon juice bath for the apples so they didn’t brown, then placed the stoneware insert in the electric portion in the morning. So easy…what a delicious dry run we enjoyed today.

  5. Pingback: Apple Crisp | Pixie In The Kitchen

  6. I made this recipe last week. It was very good. Mine turned out a bit watery but I think it’s because I didn’t use tart apples and they had more water in them than a tart apple would have had. In any case, I didn’t make any changes to the recipe (other than the apples) and it disappeared quickly. Good flavor and really simple to make. Thanks!

    1. I’m so glad to hear you made this dessert Cynthia. I do suppose that the type of apple you use could change the consistency some. I know some apples are much more juicier than others. Good thing to keep in mind for the future. Thanks so much for letting me know you tried this and your conclusion! Have a great weekend!

  7. Pingback: Autumn Fun for the Whole Family | Old Fashioned Homemaking

  8. I want to be friends with my crock pot this fall! Your recipe is on my to do list. I’ve never made dessert in a crock pot before but apples are my absolute favorite. Raw, cooked, baked or whatever!

  9. I love apple crisp and I love crockpot desserts so this is perfect! This will be my Saturday reward for having to clean the house. Must get good, rich vanilla ice cream too. 🙂 Thank you!
    Hugs – Denise (and if Sharon were here she would say hugs too!)

  10. Wow…Eileen! I love crock pots because I love having the house smell like dinner and having dinner fully cooked when I arrive home! But I can just imagine how wonderful my house would smell with the spices here. And coming home to a warm cooked dessert is even better! I can’t wait to try this! : )

Reply

