Farm Country Cinnamon Oatmeal Cake

I was just thinking about food staging and the pictures I take for my blog.  And as much as I’d like to spend hours staging my food with cute little props and scads of backgrounds I seldom do.   Heck, some days I’m lucky if I remember to place a fork next to the food I make if one is required – like this cake for example.  I really hope this doesn’t deter my readers from drooling over the things that I make from time to time, but truthfully, not being able to spend hours perfecting my photo’s with the perfect backgrounds makes me feel slightly inadequate as a blogger.  Maybe it’s because blogging can be (regardless of what other bloggers will admit) somewhat competitive.  I think it’s fairly safe to say that everyone wants their blog to be liked.  Right?

Have you ever made a cake that is so moist that you can actually hear it when you are cutting it?  Well, this is happens to be one of those cakes.  I found this recipe digging through my mom’s recipe box.  I’m not sure that I ever remember her making this cake, and there was no mention on the recipe card of where it originated from, but this much I can tell you – it’s moist and delicious. One thing that I found odd about this recipe is that it didn’t suggest what kind of frosting the cake should be topped off with.   I opted to keep it simple and made a confectionary sugar glazed icing that I drizzled on top, but I’m also thinking a nut or coconut frosting, or even just a dollop of fresh whipped cream would be a tasty on this too.

Farm Country Oatmeal Cinnamon Cake

1 c. old-fashioned oatmeal

1 1/2 c. boiling water

1 c. granulated sugar

1 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. margarine or butter

2 eggs

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. raisins (optional)

1 c. chopped nuts (optional)

Generously grease 10”x14” cake pan.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Place oats in a separate bowl and pour boiling water over top.  Let set 20 minutes.

In a separate mixing bowl, cream together sugar, margarine, and eggs.  Add salt, baking soda, cinnamon and flour; mix thoroughly.  Add in prepared oatmeal and vanilla’; beat until all ingredients are combined.  Fold in raisins and/or nuts.  Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean.  Cool and top with your favorite icing.

I shared this cake with friends and family and their feedback has been great.  A definite must make again!

All you food bloggers out there, how much time do you spend working on food staging for your photographs?

personalmulticreatebutton_zpse46a7f36

blitzed-on-pinterest2

18 thoughts on “Farm Country Cinnamon Oatmeal Cake

  1. I am right there with you Eileen. I can’t spend as much time on staging as some other bloggers do…but I know that I love the posts you share here. They are beautiful and thoughtful and so very delicious. This cake is a great example. Thank you for sharing it with us!

  2. This cake looks delicious!!! Can;t wait to try baking it 🙂 Love your photographs too. I feel I need to work harder on mine… more often than not it’s “darn i need to take a picture”…& the camera battery’s dead!!

    1. I know what you mean about those dreaded batteries. That’s happened to mee too. I guess we just have to do what we have time for, and some days it’s more, and some days it’s less.

  3. Sometimes I don’t do much with my pictures, instead would rather devour the treat LOL! I always love your photos, and wish I could grab a fork and dig in! This cake sounds so delicious! Hugs, Terra

  4. It’s funny how critical we all are of our own blogs. Since I started reading your blog, I have admired your photos for their simplicity…while still being beautiful. And the cake? I’ve already pinned it. It sounds — and looks — great!

    1. I’d love to bring you a piece of cake! Heck, I’d bring you a whole pan 🙂 I’m not sure how long it takes to get from NY to Texas but I fear I might not make it in time for breakfast – lol!

Reply

