Independence Day, Simply Vanilla Ice Cream, and More

Tomorrow is Independence Day, and at this point, I have no idea how we will celebrate it.  I’m not usually a big plan in advance kind of girl.  I’d much rather act on spontaneity.  Last minute barbeques, campfires, a trip to the lake, and road trips are so much for fun when they aren’t over-thought. 

Regardless of what we might decide to do on the 4th, I am sure of one thing, we will need to eat.    I’m thinking that this Bacon, Ranch, and Onion Dip will get the party started.  I’ve made this before, but it’s worth mentioning again, especially since I just made a bowl of it.

And then there are those fat slices of my Sinful Midnight Cake resting peacefully in the freezer; right next to a quart of this Simply Vanilla Ice Cream that I made.  So, I’ve got an appetizer and dessert covered.  Hey, it’s a start!

This ice cream requires no cooking or eggs.  And it’s delicious!  I found it in a booklet that came with my Crofton ice cream maker.

Simply Vanilla Ice Cream

2 c. heavy cream

1 c. whole milk (I use skim)

3/4 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

In a large bowl, mix milk, cream, sugar and vanilla.  Stir until sugar has dissolved.  Follow the instructions that came with your ice cream maker.

Do you have plans made to celebrate Independence Day? Or are you like me, flying by the seat of your pants?

Happy Fourth of July!!!

FV

personalmulticreatebutton_zpse46a7f36

blitzed-on-pinterest2

14 thoughts on “Independence Day, Simply Vanilla Ice Cream, and More

  1. My dad used to make ice cream in the summer when I was a kid. He would sit in the garage and make 2 or 3 different kinds. I’d forgotten all about that. Makes me want to go out and buy an ice cream maker! Problem is I would most likely eat the whole batch myself!

  2. Hi Eileen! Thanks for visiting my blog…..visiting you back! Love your spontaneous attitude….I am too uptight sometimes to be so spontaneous with food and holidays. We are planning to go to our local teams’ baseball game and fireworks tonight and just waiting to see if it is going to get rained out! I have to be spontaneous today!!

  3. I want that dip, I may just have to make it now, it looks delicious! I think a lovely vanilla ice cream is a perfect choice for any summer party! Your pictures are so fun and beautiful, and make me want to dig right in! Yum, Hugs, Terra

Reply

