The Chocolate Chip Cookie Debate

What is our fascination with chocolate chip cookies? 

I don’t know about you, but after many times of making the claim that I’ve found the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe, I give in and try one more recipe.

I admit, the first thing draws my attention to a new chocolate chip recipe is a good photo.  We’ve all seen them; the perfect image of a chocolate chip cookie that convinces us it fits our criteria.

The latest recipe I decided to try came from the blog, Apple A Day.  And yes, it was the photo that snared me, just like a spider snares a fly in it’s freshly spun web. 

After quickly reading the recipe, I found something else that convinced me I needed to make a batch of these cookies; corn starch. 

I was intrigued with the idea of using corn starch in a cookie.  Would it really make a big difference in the texture?  And how about the taste?

I  modified this recipe slightly by eliminating the 1/4 c. of granulated sugar, 1/4 tsp. of salt, and by using margarine in place of butter. I mixed all of the ingredients by hand, and I refrigerated the dough briefly before putting dropping  it on the lightly greased cookie sheets. 

My cookies did not turn out looking like those made by Kelsey.  They were much thicker and denser.  But… I think I might have got different results if I had creamed the butter, sugar, and egg briefly with an electric mixer.  I would also recommend using parchment paper when baking these cookies because the bottoms browned fairly quickly at 350 degrees.

I really liked the flavor of these cookies.  I think the corn starch gave them a unique taste.  After cooling my cookies, I placed them in an airtight container and found that doing this softened them a bit more. 

Before making a batch of these cookies I would highly recommend reading the reviews left by an Apple A Day readers.  I didn’t read the reviews before making them.  If I had done so, I might have done a couple things differently.

My verdict?  I will definitely make these cookies again.  I’m really drawn to the tastiness of them,  but am I (really) done looking for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe?  Never!

What do you think?  Do you have the best chocolate chip cookie recipe out there? Or, are you snared into trying new recipes like I am?

 weekend-potluck-buttong

12 thoughts on “The Chocolate Chip Cookie Debate

  1. Pingback: That’s The Way The Chocolate Chip Cookie Crumbles | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. I’m with you…always looking for that perfect CC cookie – yours look great. Thanks so much for sharing at Weekend Potluck.

  3. I always resort to Nestle Tollhouse…..I know, I know…..I am a recipe developer, but love that delicious recipe:-) Your cookies do look awesome, I love how perfectly shaped each cookie is!! Hugs, Terra

  4. I’m drawn to the pictures here! And who would have thought corn starch? Thank you for sharing the recipe and your lovely photographs/words. I hope you are having a good Monday!

  5. I never met a chocolate chip cookie I didn’t like….some are just better than others! These look great!!
    Did you really mean to say it called for 1/4 cup salt? Just wondered.

  6. These do look good! I always go back to The Hairy Bikers Super Posh Chewy Cookies, in fact I only just blogged the recipe last week. They are so much more than a choc chip cookie though, I think that’s why I go back time and time again! X

Reply

