Just a taste

I’m a sucker for bite-sized treats because sometimes you just need a taste. 

With a cup of your favorite tea.

Chocolate Cream Puffs

1/4 c. margarine

1/2 c. water

1/8 tsp. salt

2 tsp. granulated sugar

1 tbsp. cocoa powder

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

2 eggs

Line one extra large cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  This recipe makes about 3 dozen mini-cream puffs.

In a small bowl, add sugar, cocoa, and flour.  In a medium sized saucepan, add margarine, water, and salt.  Bring water mixture to a full boil and remove from heat.  Pour in flour mixture and stir until dough forms a ball and batter pulls from side of pan.  Add 1 egg at a time, beating with electric mixer until batter is smooth.

Using a small teaspoon, or the star tip on a pastry bag,  drop onto prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, or until cream puffs are firm to the touch.  Turn off the oven and crack the door open.  Allow cream puffs to cool slowly in the oven.

Fill  your cream puffs  with a scrumptious  filling of  choice.  I filled my with a Boston Cream filling,  and I used a very fine pastry bag tip to do so.  This was time consuming but worth the effort.

What is your favorite bite-sized treat?

 

6 thoughts on “Just a taste

  1. Oh Eileen…I just love your little chocolate cream puffs! You know…I’ve never made chocolate puffs before…I bet they were awesome. And though I am a huge fan of pastry cream…..I’d love these equally with a dollop of whipped cream in the centers! This IS such a perfect bite. My favorite perfect bite? French macarons! Lovely pictures, my friend! : )

  2. That is a tough question, with multiple answers LOL! BUT I do love little lemon tarts that are topped with fresh fruit. Your cream puffs sound wonderful, and would be awesome with my morning coffee:-). Hugs, Terra

  3. I adore a good creme puff…or any of the lovely desserts my local bakery makes. Thank you so much for sharing. I have had a long day…and I needed something sweet to cheer me up. I hope you are well. Enjoy the rest of your week. Happy Spring!

Reply

