Mom’s Banana Bread

banana bread & tea 017

I recently stopped at a tag sale where the real find was sitting in a free pile.  I quickly snatched up a (vintage) 1965 copyrighted McCall’s Home-Baked Breads Cookbook and away I went.

Although I didn’t actually make a recipe  from the cookbook, I enjoyed paging through it.  And the book did inspire me to make this batch of banana bread. 

This recipe is my mom’s.  It is a tried and true recipe that has never failed me.  

banana bread & tea 006

I made 4 mini loaves with this recipe and excluded the nuts this time around.

Mom’s Banana Bread

1 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. margarine, softened

2 eggs

3 ripe bananas, smashed

1/2 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease 4 mini bread loaf pans. 

In a large bowl, add sugar, margarine, eggs, and bananas; beat with electric mixer.   Add salt, baking soda, baking powder, and flour.  Mix all ingredients thoroughly.  Add nuts if desired.

Pour batter into prepared mini bread pans.  Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until toothpick comes clean when inserted into the middle of the bread. 

Cool before removing from pans.

banana bread & tea 011

banana bread & tea 014

What is your favorite quick bread?

5 thoughts on “Mom’s Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Planning For A Long Cold Winter–Let’s Start With These Muffins | THE JOY OF CAKING

  2. Oh I love family recipes, there is something special in each bite:-) Your banana bread looks really delicious, and sooooo moist! Yum, Hugs, Terra

  3. I’m usually not one to let the calendar rule my tastebuds. However, this is the time of year when the urge to bake banana bread ie strong. Saving mom’s recipe.

Reply

