Demolition! Vintage Camper Update

I finally have made my way into the bathroom of the Pink Paradise.  It  has been slated for a remodel because one entire wall and the whole ceiling need replacing.  It appears that the critters that formerly vacationed there did a considerable amount of damage. 

Here is how I found the bathroom after pulling it out of the weeds.  Much of what you see on the floor are the remnants of black walnuts.

frolic 005

Here is the bathroom after cleaning it for the first time.  I had to clean it to make it tolerable to work in.

baby chicks and frolic 024

Here is the start of the demolition work.  The first thing I did was disconnect pipes and remove the vanity to give me more work space.  After that, I removed the toilet and upper cabinet.

frolic 005

I found a couple interesting things while conducting demo work.  One, was a huge hole chewed in a plastic PVC pipe. I didn’t think an animal would have any interest chewing through a plastic pipe.  Guess I know better now.  It’s a good thing I tore things apart because this would have created a real problem if it went unnoticed.  I also found where one of the copper lines was damaged too.

frolic 007

More evidence of that critters chewed their way into the camper.

frolic 008

I have removed the wallboards so we can start to rebuild.  I found a wire that goes to the 12 volt light chewed in half. 

frolic 024

bathroom demolition 011

I was happy to find this piece of history in the Frolic.  I’m not sure what B-200 or Crism Birch stands for.  I suspect that it’s a model number and the style of the interior.  Anyone know???

frolic 001

While the bathroom is tore apart my hubby is going to replace the water lines and add an outlet, or two (there aren’t any).

I think the bathroom project is going to take a little more time than initially expected…

11 thoughts on “Demolition! Vintage Camper Update

  1. Ah…remember when we thought it was so cool to decorate with contact paper? Do people still do that? I can’t wait to see the finished project!! You amaze me!

    1. I do remember the contact paper craze. I don’t think it’s a current trend but maybe we out to go into business making beautiful contact papers and selling them. If anyone could bring that trend back to life it’s us – lol…

Reply

