Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies and Breaking the Rules

cookies 011

I know food photography rules.  Don’t take pictures head on, don’t get to close to your food,  and good photographs have good composition. 

So, explain to me what is it so wrong with taking a close up, head on picture of a stack of delicious homemade Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies.

These cookies are packed full of peanut butter flavor.  They are heartier since they have oatmeal in them, and they are soft and chewy.

The recipe was adapted from The Mennonite Treasury of Recipes cookbook.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together thoroughly:

1/2 c. butter, softened

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar (packed)

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

Stir together, and stir in:

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 c. quick cooking oats

1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

Drop with dining tablespoon (approximately 3 inches apart) on prepared cookie sheets.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until cookies are set, but not hard.  Makes 1.5 dozen large cookies.

Enjoy!

 

14 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies and Breaking the Rules

  1. the picture of those peanut-butter oatmeal cookies makes me rich out and grab some! They look delicious Eileen!

  2. That picture is DELICIOUS. It looks like I can just grab one off my screen 🙂 Peanut butter and oatmeal is such a yummy combo, these seriously look amazing!

    1. I’m so glad I’ve found some folks that agree with me! I especially like close ups when I’m trying to decide if I want to make the recipe or not 🙂 Have a great Mother’s Day Erin!

Reply

