Homemade Tootsie Rolls–DIY

I was elated when I found this recipe for homemade Tootsie Rolls from PAULADEAN.COM

These little chocolate confections have always been a favorite of mine, so it was a given that I try making them myself.

Believe it or not, this recipe is probably one of the simplest candy recipes you will ever find.  And while these chocolate flavored little morsels don’t taste exactly like the real thing, they are still worth making.  The flavor is close; it’s the texture that is slightly off.  This recipe makes a softer version of the original Tootsie Roll. 

tootsie roll 059

tootsie roll 060

tootsie roll 061

tootsie 3_001

This is a great kid friendly project.  I found rolling out the candy took a little longer than I had initially had expected.  But the more hands, the merrier.

13 thoughts on “Homemade Tootsie Rolls–DIY

  1. No way!! I am crazy about tootsie rolls (although I’ve found that a lot of other people think they’re gross, which is fine with me, more for me). I am going to save this and make them next time I am in a candy making mood. Great to meet you and looking forward to reading more!

  2. You have done a brilliant job – forget the originals I want your homemade 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Lemon Polenta Raisin Cookies + Tropical Citrus Mini Berry Bundt Cakes

Reply

