Making Homemade Granola

granola

I love fruit & yogurt parfaits.  They are tasty, low fat, and fairly healthy.  They make a pretty good snack or dessert when your sweet tooth is misbehaving and you are trying to watch calories.

Since I like granola on my yogurt parfaits I decided to try making my own at home.

Armed with oats and slivered almonds I contemplated what flavor granola I would make.

I scavenged through the cupboards and pulled out some of my favorite flavors.  Brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and  pure maple syrup. 

The great thing about making your own granola is that you can adapt it to fit your own tastes.  You can add honey, coconut, or a variety of nuts and dried fruits.  Because I wasn’t sure how my first batch would turn out I kept it simple.  I also decided to stay clear from adding any fat (oil) to make my granola.

Recipe:

2 c. oatmeal

1/2 c. slivered almonds

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tbsp. brown sugar

3/4 c. pure maple syrup

Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper and preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In large bowl, mix all of the ingredients together.  After everything is thoroughly mixed, pour it out onto the prepared cookie sheet.

Bake for 20-30 minutes; stir every 10 minutes. The granola is done baking when it is a light golden brown.  Be careful  not to over bake it.

Allow it to cool on the cookie sheet.  As it cools it will become crunchy.  Once cool; store in zip-lock bag to maintain freshness.

This granola is only slightly sweet.  You can add extra brown sugar if you prefer a sweeter version.  Or be creative and come up with your own custom blend.

granola 119

 

15 thoughts on “Making Homemade Granola

  1. I have a favorite recipe of my own that I love, but it has oil in it, so I rarely make it, except for gift giving. And I read labels at the store..it is almost impossible to find one with very little fat content, and it is so costly. So thank you for a low fat version!I never would have thought to use maple syrup for the liquid. I cannot wait to try it! Yum!

  2. Every time I see Ina Garten make granola I tell myself I’m going to make it today. I haven’t done it but you inspire me so hopefully I’ll get it done soon.

  3. I’ve been using honey in mine, but will switch to maple syrup. Homemade is so much better. Your gorgeous pictures make me want to head to the kitchen right now and whip up a batch.

  4. Do you know what I like best about homemade granola? I can put anything in it I want! But do you know what mine needs? To try your recipe. I love yogurt and granola. It actually cures my sweet tooth! Thank you for sharing this and make me want granola! I blame your gorgeous collage! You did an excellent job.

    1. Dionne, I’m so glad I’ve got you craving your own homemade granola – lol… You’re right though. I like the idea of making my own that way I don’t have to pick all the raisins out – 🙂 Thanks for dropping by – I’ve missed you!

Reply

