Food, a Kind Gesture

 

cake 052

This week we found out that a friend of ours cancer has returned.  I’ve found there are few words that can be said to console someone in this situation.  I feel very bad for her.  She has a tough road ahead.

I often express myself by giving food.  Sharing a fresh loaf of bread, a casserole, or a small cake replaces those hard to find words like I’m sorry, I care, and I’m here if you need me.  I know that the simple gesture is a universal sign that nearly everyone understands. 

In this case, I made a small chocolate cake and my husband made some homemade split pea and ham soup, and some lasagna to show we care.

Delivering the food gave us the opportunity to show our support and she and her husband truly appreciated it. 

How do you show you care?  Are you good with words? What’s the last kind thing you did for someone?

cake 026

10 thoughts on “Food, a Kind Gesture

  1. Having been on both the receiving and giving ends of meals, I think that food is one of the best things anyone can bring in to a home that is discombobulated with illness, new babies, or any other stress. I am sure that meal was vastly appreciated.

  2. In my 20+ years as a stay-at-home mom, one of the things I did on a once or twice a week basis was to take dinner to people in the community who had suffered a loss, were sick or recovering, and to families with new babies. I just loved serving people this way.

    When I was in one of the most down times of my life, I didn’t have anyone reach out in this nurturing way as I was stuggling just to survive. As I was divorcing, my weight dipped to 103 pounds, and at 5’6″ that’s not too good. I could sure have used a meal.

    Since I’ve gone to work full-time, I don’t have the privelige of taking food to people like I used to. But, last week I learned that a valued co-worker is in that some spot. This weekend I made a huge pot of soup for her and her kids. It’s just the right thing to do to share your gifts with some one in need.

    • Pam,

      I grew up in a small community where that was the way. When my mom was dying, a large group of co-workers paid to have a local caterer make our family a weeks worth of dinners. It was a gift from heaven. We had been eating hospital and fast food for entirely too long. You definitely should be proud of the kindness you showed to others in their times of need. I sure wished I had known you when you were going through your down time, your weight would have never dropped so dangerously low with me around – that I could guarentee. Have a great week!

  3. Bless you and your husband for supporting your friend. I too reach out with food. Our neighbor of 30+ years passed away at the end of summer and after a short visit to offer condolences, I was in the kitchen. I felt like I wanted to do more, but food seemed appropriate at the moment. I will keep your friend in my prayers.

Reply

