A Bag of Bones

Do you know anyone that owns a dog and doesn’t keep dog treats in the house?  I can’t say that I do, or ever have. For that matter, I have known people who have spent more money on their pets then they have spent on themselves. We don’t quite fall in that category but we do keep a stash of treats on hand to encourage, or award for good behavior.  Or just because.

Since we’ve witnessed a lot of good behavior lately, and buying treats can be expensive, I decided to put my baking skills to work and make some homemade dog treats.

To start this project I bought a bone shaped cookie cutter for .79 cents, I  did a little on-line research, and checked my cupboards for likely ingredients and got busy.

Recipe:

2 c. whole wheat flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/2 c. peanut butter

1 c. beef broth

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease cookie sheet.

Mix all ingredients together.  Roll out dough with rolling-pin and cut with cookie cutter.  Place on cookie sheet and bake for about 15 minutes.  Allow treats to cool completely before packaging.

fall and projects 050
fall and projects 046

These treats were a hit with our dog. Do you have a pet?  What kind is it?  Is it spoiled rotten?

 

16 thoughts on “A Bag of Bones

  1. Hi! I am new to bloggiong and I have just discovered your fabulous blog!! I love to bake and I would love to try and make these doggie biscuits for my huge labradoodle. He is lying at my feet with his paws curled around my legs as I am writing this all the way in Chester, England! I am not sure how to see the details for this recipe, all I can see at the moment is the photographs. Can you help me? Thanks!
    An

  2. Awww…! These are cute and I think my dog needs a treat. I’ve seen some dog treat recipes calling for some odd ingredients but this one is totally doable! I love that you shared a dog treat recipe with us!

    I have two dogs but only one deserves a treat. That’s ok because the other one (the one that is a stinker) can’t handle treats. They don’t “sit well” with him lol. The big useful one is a shepherd, malamute, heeler mix that is big and protective but such a love. The little one is a bishon cavalier that acts like a spoiled cat and doesn’t care about the negative reinforcement he wants what he wants. You may find him on craigslist looking for a new home…

    Nene gets things like bacon and homemade bread for treats but she needs something just for her. 🙂 Pinkerton can just have a time-out!

    P. S. Sorry for the long comment.

  3. We have a cat…not a dog, but my parents do and I know they’ll love these! What a cute idea. Thanks for sharing your dog-inspired treats. Sorbet is going to love them 🙂

  4. How cute are these dog bones? I don’t have any pets but I’m definitely making these for my cousins dogs! 🙂

Reply

