Writing (and) Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Once a month I write an article for a local Finger Lakes publication where my assignment is pretty straight forward.  I meet small business owners in the area who  produce foods or wines.  Some businesses have been around awhile, some are new on the block. It’s not a bad gig.

So far I’ve written about a Blue Oyster Cultivation, a local gourmet mushroom farm that grows fresh, hearty oyster and shitake mushrooms.; Lively Run Goat Dairy, a family run homestead cheese maker who produces some pretty awesome artisan cheeses with goats milk; Eremita Winery, a new winery that opened it’s doors in a beautiful, old historic church in the Finger Lakes Region this past August; and most recently,  Stony Brook WholeHeartedFoods, a company that produces the most delicious food grade roasted squash and pumpkin seed oils you’ll ever touch to your tongue.

I enjoy the challenge of interviewing and relaying information I’ve garnered from those interviews to others.  I understand that I’m the eyes, ears, and conveyor of words.  It’s my job to process, write,, and share what I’ve learned in each interview.

Writing articles for publications isn’t typically that difficult for me.  But it’s not always as simple as writing posts for my own blog either.  There are several freedoms we take for granted when we write for ourselves, versus writing on a professional level.  

When you write (blog) for yourself you can pick the topic you want to write about.  There are no assignments.  This is an advantage because you don’t have to meet someone else’s expectations.  There is no pressure.

There are usually no deadlines involved – unless of course you are have a type A personality and enjoy creating strict deadlines.  My poor brain works against itself when I know I have to interview, write, and submit my work on short notice.  An unexpected deadline almost always leaves me with a case of writers block. I don’t get that same feeling when I’m sitting in my pajamas working on a post about a batch of peanut butter cupcakes that I just made and have decided to share with my readers (on the spur of the moment).

Another freedom we take for granted when we write for ourselves is the freedom to be a little quirky. So what If I got upset with the manufacturer of our (good for nothing) refrigerator that broke after only four years of use and I decided to tell the world about it.  Yes, quirky. 

Also, as bloggers, we generally don’t have to (speed) write clear and concise notes to review later on either.  In a professional setting it can be tough trying to keep up with what the person you’re interviewing is telling you.  Especially when you doubt your aging memory. 

So think about this the next time you’re sitting at your computer trying to figure out where to start your post – remember it’s not that bad.  Relax, throw on your pajamas, be a little quirky, and write freely.  It’s a freedom we have as blogger’s.

Now, I know I mentioned peanut butter cupcakes in my title and post so I must deliver.  These cupcakes are a perfect treat anytime!

stony brook and cupcakes 039

This recipe is adapted from Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 stick of butter, softened

3/4 c. peanut butter, creamy

1 c. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. milk, any fat content

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 3 dozen mini-cupcake tins with paper liners.

In a large bowl; with electric mixer, beat butter, peanut butter and brown sugar until creamy.  Add egg and vanilla; mix thoroughly.  On low speed add in flour, baking powder, and salt and continue to mix while adding milk until batter is smooth. 

Fill each paper liner 3/4 full and bake for approximately 12 minutes, or until toothpick comes clean.

Once cool, frost with your favorite buttercream icing.  I chose vanilla and colored it purple to pretty it up a bit.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Writing (and) Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  1. I also have a journalism background and know how you feel. I love that blogs now give writers the chance to write about what they want (how they want to) and let their voice shine. But those deadlines, requirements and interviews always bring us back to the real world! lol

  2. Love the cupcakes but I think I like the purple icing best hi hi. Great post on a pro writing job or a guest article and a personal blog. Sometimes I censor stuff I would like to say on my blog too because it may point a finger at someone rather then a company.

  3. I also write for a living, and there is such a lovely and huge difference between my assignments and my blog! What a delicious recipe you shared with us…and an inspiring post. I hope you have a beautiful weekend, my friend. Blessings and joy from Austin.

  4. Yes, it is nice to have writing freedom. Since you can write about what you want there is no “writers block”.
    Sometimes we all need a break and these cupcakes look like the perfect way to spend breaktime-yum. The purple frosting is a great touch.

  5. I love peanut butter, yes I do and these cupcakes are so very tempting! It feels good to have the freedom to write about what I want on my blog. That was a nice reminder for me too. I set my own deadlines so once I got stressed about posting 3 times a week I stopped. No pressure. I can say what I want and make what I want. I could even drop a few f- words if I wanted! I won’t…but I just know I could.

    I just love that photo of the cupcake with the purple frosting. Beautiful color contrast!

  6. I love peanut butter cupcakes and they look so cute with the purple buttercream. I’m with you that there is such freedom in blogging that is totally different than writing professionally. In blogging more of your personality shines through which is much more fun. 🙂

  7. Yes, yes and yes. I could polish off a whole plate of these cute little cupcakes. And they would make me forget about all the laundry and dust. Thanks for reminding me of the joy of blogging because you want to.

Reply

