Cortland Apple Cake

This month I haven’t done much baking.  At least nothing new and out of the ordinary.  Missing my blogging a little, and in anticipation birthday celebrations in our family, I decided to bake something related to autumn – my favorite season.

As visions of sugar plums apples danced through my head I scoured a couple of cookbooks and the internet looking for ideas.  When I couldn’t settle on a recipe I decided to play the mad scientist.

Now, there is a warning attached to this recipe * Do not, I repeat – do not, bake this cake in a Bundt pan.* I did and seriously regretted it.  With that said, I have wonderful things to say about this cake.  It is a course, sweet, packed full of flavor, super moist  cake.  It truly depicts my idea of a delicious autumn dessert.  A definite go-to recipe in the future.  My only mistake, I opted for a Bundt pan instead of a rectangular cake pan.  As the cake baked some of the sugar caramelized and caused it to stick (not burn) to the bottom of the pan – even after I had spayed it with a big dose of cooking spray. To avoid this problem in the future I will use a rectangular cake pan.

I opted to use Cortland apples for this recipe.  I love the juicy, sweet,  and slightly tart flavor the Cortland packs.  It’s a great versatile baking apple. 

apple cake 015

Cortland Apple Cake

1/2 c. margarine, softened

2 c. sugar

2 eggs, room temp

2 c. flour

1/3 c. orange juice

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 c. grated Cortland apples

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

In a large bowl; add margarine, sugar, and eggs.  Beat ingredients until fluffy.  Add the remainder of ingredients; fold in the grated apples last. (How easy is that??)

Spray a 9×13 cake pan with cooking spray and line the bottom with parchment paper.  Lightly coat the parchment paper with cooking spray too.  Pour the batter into the pan and bake for about 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center.  Cool and serve plain, or with a dollop of homemade whipped cream.

apple cake 019

What is your favorite autumn dessert?  Is it made with apples?  Pumpkins?  Or, something else?

16 thoughts on “Cortland Apple Cake

      1. Thank you! Can’t wait to make it. I’m thinking of adding a crumble/streusel topping. And/or maybe custard flavour filling or frosting 🙂 Like apple crumble in cake form!

  1. i like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

  2. This is a very easy dessert and boy does it look moist! Once you grated the apples did you sprinkle them with lemon juice to keep them from browning? I’d love to make this for Thanksgiving.

    1. Sandra, I didn’t use lemon juice. They browned slighlty while I was grating (probably because I got a bit over-indulged in tasting the apples – lol.) I suppose if it was a concern you could put them in a bowl with the OJ the recipe calls for. I think that would probably be acidic enough to prevent the browning – what do you think?

Reply

