Sweet Corn and the Deep Freeze

If you live in climates where fresh fruits and vegetables are practically unheard of during the winter months than you might appreciate this post.  You know what I’m talking about, it’s that time of year when the only things that you’ll find  green are misletoe or Christmas trees.  *Disclaimer – if you can’t associate with this type of winter season than send me your address I’m coming to visit!

To help myself feel as if I have some, even if it’s just a little, control over the situation I typically think ahead.  I pick fresh berries and freeze them, make an abundance of sweet jams and jellies, and if the conditions are right – I load the freezer up with some veggies too. 

Our neighbors always plant a Goliath of a garden which they share with their family, friends, and neighbors.  This year, thanks to their generosity, they offered us sweet corn to freeze and to eat fresh. 

Have you ever froze corn?  It’s not hard.  You just have to blanch it before freezing it. I usually pull out my trusty Better Homes and Gardens Home Canning Cook Book to refresh my memory on blanching times before I freeze anything.  In the case of freezing sweet corn, here is what to do. First, put a big pot of water on the stove and set the heat on high temperature to bring the water to a full boil.  Then husk and wash the corn. Once the water is boiling  drop the corn into the pot one ear at a time.  The size of the ears of corn depends on your blanching time. For example, the cookbook recommends 7 minutes for small sized ears, 9 minutes for mediums sized ears, and 11 minutes for larger sized ears. Start timing your blanching process the minute you drop the corn into your pot.  *If you live 5000 feet above sea level add another minute to your blanching time.

8-25 028

Once the corn is blanched plunge it into ice water to stop the cooking process.  When the corn has cooled enough so you can handle it cut the kernels off of each cob and package it in freezer bags or containers. I use freezer bags and press them flat so they take up less space in the freezer. 

I know there will be many a winter night that this home grown corn will taste great smothered in butter and salt and pepper.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Corn and the Deep Freeze

  1. Sometimes I feel like if I don’t admit fall and winter is on the way summer will last longer. I know dream on! On the other hand I’d love to live in your neighborhood! Very useful tips, thank you.

Reply

