The quest for the best Snickerdoodle (is over)…

blue burgers and snickers 030

I finally fired up the oven today.  It seems like an eternity since I’ve baked something for my blog.  So, without further adieu… Here is a new favorite recipe.

My past attempts at making snickerdoodle cookies didn’t make the grade.  The cookies either turned out too thin, too greasy, or too hard.   When I found this recipe at how sweet it is I decided to try it.  The one thing I immediately noticed about this recipe? It didn’t call for cream of tartar like most snickerdoodle recipes do.  Does that mean they aren’t officially snickerdoodles?  They sure taste like them.

These cookies are perfect;  just what I was looking for.  They are soft, chewy, flavorful, and just the right thickness.  I doubt I’ll do anymore searching for  snickerdoodle recipes from this point forward.  Unless of course, someone out there has a better one they think I should try.

I did make a few adjustments to the recipe. 

Here is the recipe I made.

1/2 c. margarine

1 egg

1 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

In a large bowl, cream margarine, egg, and sugar until blended.  Add remaining ingredients to the creamed mixture and mix thoroughly. Refrigerate for 30 plus minutes.

Preheat oven at 350 degrees

Take 1/4 c. granulated sugar and 1 TBSP of cinnamon and mix in small bowl.

Roll dough into 1 1/4” balls.  The dough will be sticky so don’t over-handle it.  Drop balls into sugar and cinnamon mixture and then place them (do not press down) on lightly greased cookie sheets.  Bake for about 11 minutes.  The cookies should be light, golden brown when you remove them from the oven.  Cool slightly, and remove from the cookie sheet.  Recipe makes about 16 cookies.

 

27 thoughts on “The quest for the best Snickerdoodle (is over)…

  1. i noticed that you omitted the milk. i dont like milk in my cookie recipes, i think it makes them cardboardy. so why did you personally not use it? anyway, regardless of the milk issue, i agree, this really is the best snickerdoodle cookie recipe. most the other snickerdoodle recipes out there are flat and crispy. so gross. dont know why everyones likes that martha stewart recipe. oh well. all personal preference

  2. Oh I can’t wait to try this. I just love snickerdoodles, and I need a “go-to” recipe. Thank you for sharing, sweet friend. I’m sorry I’ve been a bit absent. Your blog is a great way for me to end my dad. I hope you have a beautiful weekend!

  3. I have spoiled my family by making snickerdoodles that are five+ inches across. If I were to change recipes, I would have a mutiny, but I could call these cinnamon cookies and probably get away with it. They look like they have a completely different texture than we are used to…that would help in the deception, too 🙂

    1. Kristen, I think they are a bit different texture wise too. But they do taste like a snickerdoodle. I think they might be a tad bit more sweet. Please share your snickerdoodle recipe sometime!

  4. My husband just walked up behind me as I was looking at your beautiful photo of your snickerdoodle and squealed (yes, a little squeal came out of his masculine mouth), ‘Yummy! Snickerdoodles! Let’s make some!’.
    It my younger daughters favorite cookie but we never make them…hmmm.

  5. The texture on these cookies is different than the standard and has peaked my interest. I have bookmarked these to try at a later date. Thanks for doing all the testing and research it took to arrive at these lovely gems.

Reply

