Cheery Cupcakes

My last post was written exactly one week ago.  I can’t get over how quickly time goes by.  I was busy a good share of the week working on an article that is slated to be published in the May/June issue of Tastes of Wine Country. This is a great publication that is specific to the beautiful Finger Lakes area.  I’m very excited about this, my first official writing gig.  I had a great time working on the story and can’t wait to see it in print!  The local business that I wrote about is amazing.  I’m excited for them too – but that’s all I can say right now 🙂

The weather was miserable yesterday.  As I was listening to the hard rain and the strong winds hit against our house I decided I’d had enough.  You know the old saying, “When the going gets tough, the tough get going. “   

I was in the mood to bake.  I just didn’t know what I was in the mood to bake.  Snicker doodles, molasses cookies, and blonde brownies briefly crossed my mind.  In the end, it was cupcakes that won out.  Big, beautiful, cheery, colorful, bright cupcakes.

cupcakes rainbow 008

I’ve made colored frosting before but I really can’t remember coloring cake batter.  To make these I used one of my favorite vanilla cake recipes and then separated the batter into small bowls.  I then colored each batter with neon colored food coloring. These cupcakes turned out beautiful.  They are so moist and pretty that I decided not to frost them.  If you’re a frosting freak then I know what you’re thinking. I may just top them off with some fresh whipped cream and throw a jelly bean on top.  These would make a perfect finish to a big Easter dinner. 

Are you planning on making an Easter dessert?  What will it be?

21 thoughts on “Cheery Cupcakes

  1. Congrats on your article. It’s nice to know a little about the bloggers we follow. Thanks for commenting on my recent post. I’ve tried Moscato and some I like and some not so much. Sometimes it depends on my mood that day – : ).

    The cupcakes look great. My grandsons would devour these in a hearbeat. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I think there is definitely a difference from one Moscato to the next. My wine drinking also depends on my mood, or taste on any given day. Some days I want a red, some days a white, and some days blush suits me just fine. Same goes for sweetness too. 🙂

  2. That is so exciting about the article in Tastes of Wine County – I love that paper and I pick it up whenever I find it. I will look for your article!

    As for Easter dessert, I’m pretty sure we’ll be having a carrot cake …what goes better in a bunny-shaped pan than carrot cake? And I found a wonderful lightened-up recipe in last month’s Cooking Light, so it will be cute bunnylicious fun and it won’t break the calorie bank!

    Happy Easter 🙂

  3. Congrats on your first writing gig! I’m so happy for you. 🙂 These cupcakes are so much fun. I just love the bright colors, they make me smile just looking at them.

  4. What pretty cupcakes! These are such a fun idea for spring. I would love for you to pop by my blog and share these with my So Sweet Sundays linky party! 🙂

    morrowsunshine.blogspot.com

  5. Congratulations on your writing gig and on these gorgeous cupcakes. I like a little frosting with mine, usually, but these don’t need anything. So perfect for Easter and you could come up with lots of variations for each holiday. Good Job! And you are so not alone with the putrid weather. It’s been snowing/hailing off and on all morning. Very strange.

Reply

