The Mantel – Phase 1 Complete

The fireplace mantel project I’ve been working on hasn’t been moving very quickly, but I do have an update.  It has been painted, and now sits waiting for phase two.   Installation.

The story behind this mantel?  It was on clearance for, brace yourselves, $15.00 at our local Bargain Outlet.  Yes, you read it correctly, fifteen dollars.  When I saw the price  I couldn’t get it loaded on my cart  fast enough.  I’m all about saving money.

The mantel wasn’t perfect, but not far from it.  We did find some very minor damage to one of the front pillars when we unpacked it.  Nothing my husband, a little wood glue, and a clamp couldn’t fix.  In the meantime,  I used wood putty to fill the small holes where the finish nails had left their mark.  Once the wood putty dried I lightly sanded the spots and primed the entire mantel.

Then came the actual painting.  I opted for a bright, white paint with a light gray accent color.  I love how the two colors came together.

The next phase of this project is to build a hearth so we can use the gas fireplace insert we bought for it.  My husband has that all planned out, and I have to pick out the tile we are going to use in the hearth, and the slate or brick for the floor.

Phase 2 here we come!   Do  you conquer your own home project(s) ?  What’s the best bargain you have found for one of your projects?  Please do tell, I’d love to hear about them.

6 thoughts on “The Mantel – Phase 1 Complete

  1. I am so glad that you shared this with me! You know how much I love creative projects like this…it does not surprise me that you are such a gifted restorer of found objects. Beautiful work (I can’t wait to see more!) I’m so glad it is finally Friday. I hope you have a wonderful weekend of relaxation, love and laughter. Thank you for sharing, my friend!

  2. The mantel looks fab-u-losa! Years ago I picked up fake crystal light fixtures from Target for $2 a piece. I hard wired them together and installed them on our porch. It’s very French Country and every time I see them I think- those were only $2!

  3. Oooo you DID find a bargain! I love it! I’m so excited that you both get to put everything together the way you want it!

    We usually do our own projects but we just moved in our new house 1 year ago and haven’t tackled anything major besides some shelves.

    I haven’t found any good bargains like that but I’ll have to keep my eyes open…

Reply

