Have a heart – cookie that is….

I suppose what  inspired to make these cookies was a recent trip to Panera Bread.  As I was ordering my healthy lunch I couldn’t keep my eyes off of their heart-shaped shortbread cookies.  I love Panera’s shortbread cookies. My observant husband asked me if I’d like a cookie and I told him I would on Valentine’s Day.  He just grinned.  He also asked me if I’d like a heart-shaped donut from Dunkin Donuts too.  He knows me so well.

I found this sugar cookie  (not shortbread) recipe at  Wilton’s website.   Their sugar cookie recipe is quite different from my tried-and-true recipe.

I have never made a sugar cookie that the dough was this easy to work with, I think it’s because of all the butter.   The recipe specifically advises you not to refrigerate the dough prior to rolling out your cookies.  In this case, I put the dough on a lightly floured  piece of parchment paper.  The dough rolled out nicely without sticking and transferred to the cookie sheet with ease.  Prior to baking the cookies I sprinkled the tops  with pink granulated colored sugar in an effort to cut a few calories that frosting would have added.

These cookies should transport easily if you’re going to a Valentine’s Day party. The verdict on this cookie is at a tie in our house.  I prefer my tried-and-true recipe over this one.  My husband on the other hand, feels just the opposite.  So, I guess you will have to bake a batch of these and let me know what you think of them.

Does anyone have a great shortbread cookie recipe that you would compare to Panera’s?  If so, are you willing to share it?

**Update** I tried the shortbread cookie recipe that one of my readers recommended below.  To see the cookies, and get my opinion, see my blog post Get out your sifters for these shortbreads.

16 thoughts on “Have a heart – cookie that is….

  1. The main thing for me in a good cookie recipe is the butter, it’s in the aroma, taste and aftertaste. I love shortbread too. sorry I can’t remember Panera’s when I’ve been over. Hearts are looking good too.

  2. If I had a shortbread recipe I would share it no problem but you see I have a crush on shortbread but I never found any good recipes for it. 🙂 Sugar cookies are addicting but they don’t excite me like a sweet and buttery shortbread.

    Your heart shaped cookies with the pink sprinkles look perfect. My daughter is sitting right here getting excited about them at this very moment! Thank you for sharing this!

  3. OK, that is a seriously good cookie. I baked them but haven’t frosted and decorated them yet. Just the right combo of sweet with a hint of salty. Have to bake another batch without almond flavoring, my granddaughter has a serious nut allery. Thanks again for leading me to the recipe.

    1. Yea! So glad you enjoy them. Are you going to write a post and show them off? I’d love to see them frosted. I didn’t use the almond flavoring. I just increased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp.

  4. I love the shortbread cookies from Panera too! YUM! The sugar cookies you made are just too cute with the sprinkles on top. 🙂 I would probably have a very hard time not eating all of them!

Reply

