No pictures for how long? Or, refrigerator either?

This week has not been the best.  My camera (Sony Cyber-Shot) which is less than six months old had to be sent to Laredo, Texas, for a product safety issue.  It emitted smoke and a foul odor while using it recently. 

No, I really didn’t want to send my camera away since I use it regularly for my blog, and Esty, but my calls to Sony customer relations proved fruitless.  Even with the one year limited warranty the only solution they could offer me was to send it away, far away. 

Here are my concerns, and here is Sony’s responses.

1.)  I can’t afford to be without my camera for an undisclosed amount of time.  (There are no guarantees from Sony how long this assessment and repair will take.)  Their response, “This is the only solution we can offer.”

2.)  When I asked for them to simply replace my camera.  Their response, “We don’t offer an advanced product exchange.”

3.)  When it was apparent that there was no other option other than repair,  I asked if I could take my camera to a camera repair center in my area. Their response, “There are none, Laredo, Texas, is the only repair center.”

4.)  When I explained my fear that once they received the camera they wouldn’t find what was wrong with it.  You know how that works – it’s like taking your car to the garage for repair and the car doesn’t act up.  Their response, “I have noted your concern.”

5.) When  I asked  them if they would  extend my warranty since the camera will be gone for who knows how long, and it’s malfunctioned, and may never be right again.  Their answer – no response.   Yes, I’m a skeptic.

What is wrong with companies today?  Why isn’t customer relations important?  I know this is not the case with all companies.  I’ve received great customer service from PayPal, Verizon Wireless, my local bank, and recently General Electric regarding a recall on my washing machine. 

I can’t say the same about Frigidaire though.  When our (over) $1000.00 (less four-year old refrigerator)  nearly burnt our house down awhile back I got the same indifference from their call center that I got from Sony.  My husband repaired the refrigerator twice now.  The third time it went down I unplugged it, and it sits empty in our kitchen.  Without an extended warranty they were willing to do nothing.   Instead of wasting more money I’m using two old refrigerators in our basement, and a small, cheap, college dorm fridge I put in our kitchen.  Yes, I’m stubborn.  It should be noted that the appliance parts center in our area said this is not uncommon with this particular model. 

So, if anyone out there reading this has really big connections with a camera or refrigerator manufacturer,  I’m up for a product review right about now. 

Is it just me?  Do you have horror stories like mine?   I’d love to hear about your favorite, and not so favorite companies to deal with.  Who stands behind their products, and who doesn’t?

Who knows, maybe Sony will surprise me.  (I doubt it)  There is that skeptic coming out in me again.  Only time will tell.  Lots of time.

13 thoughts on “No pictures for how long? Or, refrigerator either?

  1. Sony is giving a good impression of what they think about their customers. If we don’t buy their products THEY DON’T HAVE A JOB. They should be treating you with way more consideration. The same goes for the refrigerator. Do they think that if the one you have breaks and they don’t treat you with some respect (at minimum!) that you’ll run out and buy another one of their products??? I’m guessing that won’t be the result.

    I am a huge fan of good customer service. I don’t usually support companies that treat customers poorly. I bought a huge bag of birdseed from Lowes last summer and brought the bag inside and put it on our kitchen floor. (FYI never do that.) Our kitchen was flooded with weevils. Yes, weevils. They went into our walls, pantry, living room…their response? “Yeah that happens. That’s why you don’t keep birdseed in your house.” Maybe I’m the only one in the world that didn’t know this but I was not impressed with her response. Haven’t been back since.

    1. I won’t buy Sony again after this. In fact, I walk right past their brands now. A little empathy goes a long way in my book. These companies make billions of dollars in profit off of consumers every year. There is no excuse for such bad customer relations. Sorry about your bird seed ordeal, and your troubles with Lowes. I guess they lose in the end because they lost a valued customer over a bad attitude and a bag of bird seed!

  2. I wish I had tales of great companies that offered solid customer service…but besides Apple…I don’t have many that I’ve had success with. I truly hope that you get the situation with your camera figured out. I’m sending good thoughts your way!

  3. I had a similar one a while back with my washing machine. One month after the warranty it started breaking down. My issue is the waste of such a large appliance. I think we live in such a throw away culture that the manufacturer has no incentive to make something last more than a few years. If I knew a product (like a refrigerator or washing machine) would last 10 years or more I would spend the extra money. In college I had a stove and refrigerator that were 30yrs old and worked great!
    Good luck!

  4. I totally agree about customer service these days. It almost seems as if products are made to be disposable after about 12 months. I really hope they are able to fix your camera.

  5. Oh, I am so sorry you are having to go through that. It’s bad enough to have one major thing break, but two at the same time and two bad experiences is just too much. Hopefully something good will happen soon.

  6. I do not have a horror story, at least not lately, but I was without a camera this summer so I totally get how horrifying to not have one for the blog. On my first stop of my summer holidays I left my camera on the kitchen table of my friends house in WAS. And there were problems with customs when my friend mailed it back. I was freaking out but a friend lent me a camera in the mean time.

    1. I can’t describe how lost I feel without my camera. I have an ancient camera that takes great landscape pics – but close ups – forget it. I tried to take pictures of some cupcakes I made and it was bad…. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Reply

