Joconde Kahlua Mousse Entremet

Astheroshe is a graduate pastry chef from a culinary school.  She also happens to be the host of this months Daring Bakers challenge at The Daring Kitchen, and writes the blog accro.  So, would it surprise you if my first thought after reading this months challenge went something this  “Huh? 

Ashteroshe asked us to make a entremet.  We had to make  a Joconde imprime (decorated sponge cake) with our choice of filling(s).   Truthfully, I had never heard of this type of dessert before.  It was all Greek French to me. 

I read the instructions several times just to be clear on what was ahead of me.  It didn’t sound easy, nor did it look easy.   How in the world do I get myself into these kinds of predicaments?  

Let me try to simplify this for you.  There are three parts to making one of these cakes.  First, you have to make a paste that is baked into the cake to make a design. 

I chose a chocolate tuile decorating paste from a recipe I found at Bakers Royale.  Making the paste itself was fairly simple.    Once the paste is made you either pipe, or spread it onto parchment paper, or a silpat, on an upside down cookie sheet and make your designs.  I opted to use my cake decorator.  The paste then gets frozen  for 20 minutes.

 

With the paste in the freezer you then make a Joconde imprime sponge batter.  This cake is unusual in the sense that it is made with almond flour.  I was in shock (seriously) when I realized a small bag cost nearly $10.00.  Almond flour is nothing more than blanched almonds ground up fine.  I used the recipe Astheroshe provided to make the Joconde sponge batter.  Making this batter was not complicated either.  The one skill it did require was beating three egg whites to firm, glossy peaks which you fold into rest of the batter near the very end. 

After the paste design is frozen, the cake batter is then poured on top of the design, and it is baked. Baking can be tricky, and requires your full attention.  This cake is not very thick and can burn easily if not watched.

While my cake was baking I set the timer and worked on making the filling for the cake.  I decided on a sweet Kahlua mousse.  The Kahlua mousse recipe came from Real Restaurant Recipes . I doubled the recipe and cut back on the instant coffee it called for.  This mousse is so easy to make, and absolutely delicious.  A definite tried-and-true recipe for the future.

Once the cake is out of the oven and cooled, the fun nail biting begins. This is the time for inverting the cake, cutting, constructing, and filling.  The cake is cut to fit around the bottom and  inside of a springform pan. 

I did run into a glitch.  I did not have enough of the sponge cake to use as layers as I had planned to.  To remedy this problem I had to make another cake.  The layers in my cake were made with chocolate Joconde sponge, Kahlua mousse, and crushed Butterfinger candy bar. 

I appreciate the opportunity to grow as a baker and I felt a sense of accomplishment when all was said and done.  My daughter has just recently taken an interest in baking so I invited her over to help me with this Daring Bakers challenge.  This worked out great because she helped me make the cake and I sent half of it home with her and her husband.  My in-laws got the other half, minus one small piece.

Here are my other completed Daring Bakers Challenges:

Apple Cider Doughnuts

Black & White Fudge Crostata

15 thoughts on “Joconde Kahlua Mousse Entremet

  1. It came out great looking and I’m sure great tasting. I really want to try the kahlua mousse (so thank you for sharing the recipe). When it says 2 ounces of Kahlua, does it mean weight or volume?

  2. This is stunning! I don’t know if I’ve seen a more challenging dessert, and you took this on with such courage! Your end result is beautiful (and I’ve seen quite a few of these today). Congratulations on a job well don! Thank you for sharing, sweetheart. I hope you have a happy Saturday. Hugs and love!

  3. I’m really enjoying all the posts on this month’s “Daring Baker Challenge”, but really appreciate your tutorial which is so helpful in explaining the whole process. It looks so decadent and delicious. Thanks for sharing, and hope have a great week-end!

Reply

