The BPC Cookie

I know you haven’t seen much of me lately, and for that I apologize.  I’ve been busy working on a couple  of projects.  The first project that’s been keeping me busy is a vintage shop I started on Esty.  If you have a few minutes please drop by and take a peek. My shop is called EandEsty.   If you’ve never shopped at Esty you don’t know what you’re missing.  Seriously… 

The other project that is keeping me busy?  Well,  (embarrassed to admit this) a couple of years ago I bought a beautiful (unfinished) fireplace mantel.  It’s sat bundled up on my livingroom floor  for way too long.  I have finally gotten around to working on it.  Priming, painting, accent painting, etc.  The mantel is turning out beautiful, just as I had envisioned.  When all is said and done I’ll share some pictures of it with you. 

Oh, and yes, I’m still eating healthy and exercising.  Last week was discouraging because I plateaued.  I have been keeping track of my daily food intake and I actually think I was eating to little.  I had a calorie deficit which throws your metabolism into a complete panic and your body starts reserving fat instead of losing it.  There won’t be anymore of that! 

A couple of old, pathetic looking bananas have been sitting on my counter waiting for me to make good use of them.  

They were begging for me to be creative, which ruled out my tried and true recipe for banana bread.  Hmmmm.  This was going to take some research and thought.  So,  researching and thinking I did, and here is what I came up with – the BPC (Banana, Pecan and Chocolate Chip Cookie

  

These cookies are so moist and flavorful.  The are the perfect answer to a quick breakfast on the go too.  I adapted the recipe from Martha Stewart.  There are quite a few contrasts between her recipe and mine. 

My recipe is as follows:

Banana Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

 ½ c. soft (light) margarine

½ c. dark brown sugar

¼ c. sugar

1 large egg (room temp)

2 mashed (ripe) bananas

1 ½ tsp. vanilla

½ tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

¼ c. oatmeal

1 c. white flour

1 c. whole white flour

¾ c. mini chocolate chips

2 Tbsp. chopped pecans

 Preheat oven 350 degrees

Baking time 8 minutes on parchment paper lined cookie sheet

 

Mix ingredients in a large bowl in the order they appear in the recipe. Drop by kitchen tablespoon onto parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for approx 8 minutes. Remove from baking sheet and cool. Store in airtight container. 

Happy Baking!

23 thoughts on “The BPC Cookie

  1. Your etsy shop is great! You and I have such similar styles, and I know that we would probably have so much fun working on projects together. I can’t wait to see how that fireplace mantle turns out! Clearly you know how to put things together (as evidenced by your shop and these muffins!) I love bananas in cookies! Thank you for sharing this delicious treat with me. I hope that tomorrow brings you joy!

  2. I usually make banana bread or banana cakes. It should be fun to try out these banana cookie plus i have 2 ripe bananas sitting all lonely in my kitchen waiting to be used up…lol

  3. I hope you will post a picture of the mantel when you finish with it. I love to see projects like that. The cookies sound great. Fruit is such a good substitution for fat.

Reply

