A healthy oatmeal berry muffin

Until tonight, I haven’t baked anything since the day before Christmas.  Surprisingly, I haven’t really missed the sweets.  I’ve found healthier ways to compensate for my sweet tooth, and exercise now replaces the time I spent baking.  Progress – slow but sure. 

Tonight however, I had the urge to bake something, not something loaded with sugar, but something with fruit and oats.  I like having muffins on hand for a breakfast option so I did a little research and decided to make a muffin that would satisfy, and wouldn’t throw me off the wagon. 

This muffin is hearty and moist.  I made a quick trip over to Sparkpeople.com  and converted the recipes ingredients to come up with the calorie content, etc which I’ll share with you.  Sparkpeople offers some very useful tools if you are trying to be healthier. 

These muffins have no oil, butter or margarine in them.  In lieu of the those I used light fat-free vanilla yogurt.  The sugar is minimal, and I used  white whole wheat flour for a bit more nutritional value .  I opted for cinnamon and vanilla to flavor, and to accompany the oats and fruit.   

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Spray non-stick cooking spray in 12 muffin cups

2 egg whites

1/2 cup skim milk (sour with 1 tablespoon of vinegar)

1  6 oz light, non-fat yogurt

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups oatmeal

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1 cup of berries (your choice)  I used black raspberries

Add ingredients into a large bowl in the order the appear on the recipe.  Stir thoroughly.  Pour equally into the 12 muffin cups.  Bake for 17-20 minutes until toothpick inserted into the center of muffin comes out clean. 

Let cool for 5 minutes and remove from pan.  Store in airtight container.

The nutritional facts based on conversion for 12 muffins:

Calories:  125.9 per muffin

Total Fat: .08 g

Cholesterol: .o6 mg

Sodium: 312.8 mg

Total Carbohydrate: 29.5 g

Dietary Fiber: 1.9 g

Sugar: 13.8 g

Protein: 3.9 g

Potassium: 109.3 mg

Do you have a favorite low-fat recipe for a baked good?  I’d love to hear about it.  Or, if you made a New Year resolution I’d love to know what it was, and how it’s going.

14 thoughts on “A healthy oatmeal berry muffin

  1. I loved the recipe converters over at Sparkpeople. It was so nice to see exactly what I was eating in terms of calories, etc. I haven’t used that site in a few years.

  2. I have also been wanting to bake healthier treats now that the holidays are over. My sweet tooth was certainly satiated! Thank you for sharing this wholesome sweetness! I hope you have a wonderful end of your week.

  3. Thank goodness they’re raspberries! I thought you used raisins. These muffins sound really good and a very minimal guilt treat! You are doing so well sticking to your goals!

    I modified my moms muffin recipe and made them a little more wholesome. I use yogurt a alot, in fact I used it tonight for mashed potatoes instead of butter, milk and sour cream and it was awesome.

Reply

