A measly cup of sugar-free Jell-O

Sadly this is what is has come to for The Joy of Caking.  A measly cup of sugar-free Jell-O. 

Lets talk about the upside of a cup of sugar-free Jell-O.  It has only 10 calories, tastes very cherryish ( I bought the cherry and black cherry pack), and is capable of a few upgrades –  capable enough to satisfy most of my cravings for sweets.  Thank goodness!  Now, do I have you convinced that sugar-free Jell-O is  far better tasting than the homemade treats you and I make?

I didn’t think so.  I’m not all that convinced either.   I’ve never been a big diet freak, but there is something I have noticed over the years.  The older I get, the harder it is to stop gaining weight, and the harder it is to lose weight when I want  need to. 

With weight loss foremost in my mind I spent some time last night in the grocery store reading labels.  I decided I was going to forego buying anything that was high in fat, sugar, and calories.   I didn’t even stroll down my favorite isle –  the baking isle.  Can you imagine?  No flour, sugar, chocolate chips, or butter.  What a hard task for a  baker like myself.  

Have you ever shopped when you’re thinking along the lines of dieting? It’s a real chore finding food to buy that resembles something healthier, and is still tasty.  Lets compare a breakfast food for example. Take bagels and english muffins. First, there is a considerable difference in calories between the two.  I prefer bagels but english muffins are lower in calories.  Then compare the whole grain  to the  white,  the regular to the light, and one brand from the next.  This is what I call work.   If everything I wanted to buy was this involved, the grocery store could easily become my home away from home.  Do I sound like Andy Rooney yet?

Have you ever notice the price difference from healthy food to what some might consider unhealthy food?  Why is it that anything that appears to be better for you costs more money?  If an english muffin has more calories doesn’t it make sense that more ingredients went into it?  Apparently not the case. 

To settle my nerves after my trip to the grocery store I upgraded my cup of cherry sugar-free Jell-O a bit.  I added some sliced banana and a squirt of whipped cream – while it did help satisfy my sweet tooth, it certainly is not comparable to a piece of my homemade chocolate and cream cheese crostata.  This is the price I have to pay for being a bit too excessive during the last ten months that I’ve been baking my fool head off and blogging about it.

Will you stand by me while I work on this self-improvement project, or until I’m sick of it?  Please join in, I’d love to hear your  suggestions, tips, and thoughts on getting healthier in 2011.

15 thoughts on “A measly cup of sugar-free Jell-O

  1. lol Loved this post, but don’t do it! As long as you are happy and healthy, eat! Sugar free jello is for hospitals, not humans. Yuck. Moderation my dear! as I’m sure you know. Bake, eat one serving, and give the rest away. You will then be making yourself, and others happy.

  2. I don’t like going on diets either but I really don’t like feeling sluggish and bloated (which is how I always feel once I get over a certain weight).
    I’ve got a few tricks:
    1. We give our bake goods away. We have a piece of cake and than pack it right up!
    2. I exercise to eat. I know it’s not the healthiest approach but I’m not willing to give up my sweet tooth yet.
    3. I sometimes use a calorie counter. Just writing in what I eat makes me get picky about what I’m putting in my body. The best ones are where they combine your calories with exercise. It’s a lot like #2!

    You can do it and you will end up feeling great!

  3. Good food isn’t cheap, and cheap food isn’t good.

    We noticed a big increase in our weight after the first year of innkeeping and quickly realized that we can’t eat like we’re on vacation every weekend. Here’s a simple solution that worked for us: only make as much as we need to serve the guests. That means cutting recipes in half or more, and giving away any leftovers (our neighbors LOVE us!). Good luck! I look forward to reading about it.

  4. I think a lot of us are thinking of weight loss now. Choosing healthy foods is hard at first, but I think once we’ve got the staples figured out it will get better. All of your readers will support you in reaching your goals!
    Happy New Year!

  5. Thank you for sharing your goals with us. I know that you will be able to see results in the upcoming year. You are strong, talented, and dedicated…I have faith in you! And I think your jello cup looked much better with that banana and whipped cream on top. Yum! I wish you and your family a happy and safe New Year!

  6. oh, don’t remind me about the weight loss. i have been struggling to lose the so called baby weight for lit over a year but now I promised myself starting January 1st I would not make cakes every other day or bake crescents/rolls at least 3 times a week. i know it’s going to be hard but I hope i’m going to be strong and stay away from chocolate :)))
    hope everything works out well for you and you manage to lose those stubborn extra pounds.

    New Year begins, let us pray,
    that it will be a year with new Peace,
    New Happiness, and abundance of new friends,
    God bless you through out the new Year.

    1. See you know exactly what I’m talking about. I finally resolved myself to the same thing you’re saying – I can’t make cakes and baked goods three(plus) times a week and lose weight. It’s one, or the other for me because I have very little willpower with a full cookie jar in the house – lol….

      Thank you for the New Year’s prayer. Amen

  7. Eating healthy for me was a process. Going cold turkey is no bueno. I know that Jello never satisfied my sweet tooth, but having a little bit of something I wanted did help. It keeps me from binging! I substituted a lot of recipes that called for mayo and used nonfat Greek yogurt instead. I gradually got used to low fat then nonfat cream cheese and sour cream for some things (for things like cheesecake I go all the way.)

    I like to roast a chicken and mix the meat with nonfat Greek yogurt, apples and cranberries. Makes a great meal, snack whatever and helps my sweet tooth.

    Smoothies with nonfat yogurt some fruits and some unsweetened cocoa powder are great too! It’s no replacement for a shake but it’s pretty good stuff. 🙂

    I’ll stand by you, but if you sound too pitiful I may just have to send you a treat in the mail…

    1. Thanks Dionne for all your tips and ideas! You’re right eating healthy is a process which I somehow forgot along the way. These extra pounds are a reminder of that. I’m so glad you’re going to stand by me [?] I just hope everyone doesn’t miss the treats like I’m going to, and bail out – lol…

      1. I’m behind you all the way but I do fail a lot. I just try again. I did so good for the cook off! I only had bites! No platefuls. I was actually very hungry when it was all over! Don’t ask about the rest of the weekend. Eek. I miss treats already, but I’ll just keep giving them away…

        Here’s to lots of fruits and veggies this year with the rest in extreme moderation!

Reply

