Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Pieces Cookies

As a little girl I loved the movie Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory.  What child wouldn’t want to find the winning ticket to a candy factory?  And, what’s not to like about the psychedelic surroundings of the factory,  the array of off beat characters, or even the unusual penalties handed out to the kids like Violet, who broke Willy Wonka’s rules and ended up as a giant blueberry after tasting the three course dinner gum.  What’s life without a little imagination?

Now granted, the candy aisle at Wal-Mart could never compare to a trip to a candy factory like Willy Wonka’s.  Well, I take that back, I have bumped into a few off beat characters in Wal-Mart before, but there is no denying  their candy aisle  has  lots of candies to choose from and it’s as close as I’m going to get to a candy factory anytime soon.  The candies that caught my eye, and were calling my name on this specific day, Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Pieces. 

With the “scrumdidilyumptious” candies in one hand, and computer in the other I set out on a quest to find a moist chocolate chip cookie recipe that I could use these candy pieces in.   My search for the recipe was over when I landed on a blog called How Sweet It Is  and her post titled Big (and Best) Chocolate Chip Cookies.  If the picture of her cookies doesn’t convince you that these are the (ones), than I’m not sure anything ever will.

Following the recipe, I made the cookies and substituted the Hershey Special Dark Chocolate pieces in lieu of chocolate chips.  I didn’t make the cookies as big as the recipe called for, and because I made mine smaller I didn’t have to bake them as long either.  The results…

If  by chance, there were rules like the ones in the Willy Wonka movie that said I couldn’t eat these cookies,  then I can assure you I’d end up  like Violet  – a giant blueberry.

14 thoughts on “Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Pieces Cookies

  1. I made these last week and followed the recipe except for the choc. chips (I did 3 parts semi sweet 1 part bitter choc.) and they turned out great! No more butter crisps!

  2. Oh I love that movie too! And I love adding candy to my cookie recipes…how can you go wrong with a little more chocolate? Thank you for sharing my dear. I hope the rest of your week is beautiful!

  3. Even now, as a parent, when I watch the original Willie Wonka with my kids, I think about how fun it would be to have so many sweets available. Those are great cookies. I haven’t seen those Special darks. I obviously need to spend more time in the candy aisle!

  4. Willy Wonka is the best!! I love that movie, although it always makes me want a pile of candy. hehehe I love these candies that you put in your cookies–what a cool idea!

Reply

