Do you see it?

I belong to a search and rescue team in my area.   Recently, our team was out in a large forest on state land conducting a mock search.  During our training exercise we  came to a stand still.  The human scent dog was hot on the trail of our “lost hunter” and we were waiting for word to advance.  It was a beautiful fall day, and I  had  taken my camera along to get some pictures of our team in action.  While I was standing there in the woods I kept seeing a slight movement out of the corner of my eye, after careful observation, I finally got a good look at what was making the movements.

This chipmunk came out of his house to see what all the noise was about.  He watched me with caution, and before we left the area I pointed him out to my husband, who in turn, left him some nuts for disturbing his sanctuary. 

Do you have an organization you volunteer with?  I’d love to hear about it.

2 thoughts on “Do you see it?

  1. He’s cute! Seeing that chipmunk takes me back to my childhood. We used to sit out on the driveway at our cabin in northern WI and put peanuts between our toes for them to come grab out. We don’t get to see them as much down here in the south.

  2. I volunteer at a local high school and a children’s home. I teach creative writing groups for middle and high school girls and I love it! Thank you for sharing a bit of your own volunteering experience…the little creature brightened my night!

Reply

