Wake up, it’s time for breakfast!

Wake up, it’s time for breakfast!  When the good people at Foodbuzz Tastemakers sent me a coupon for a free product from Nature’s Pride I decided it was time to make this delicious breakfast casserole. 

The main ingredient in this casserole is 4 cups of cubed bread.   I opted for a loaf of Nature’s Pride Country White, but you don’t have to use Country White, Nature’s Pride offers a variety of breads, and rolls to choose from.   To learn more about their products, I recommend visiting their product site listed below.

 http://www.naturespridebread.com/#/products

This recipe was adapted from the 2008 December/January issue of Country Home magazine.  It is a nice change from the typical breakfast fare.  One thing I particularly like about this casserole, you can prepare it ahead of time, and refrigerate it until your ready to bake it.  This helps accommodate, especially when you are expecting a large crowd.

Here is the recipe for Cheddar-Bacon Wake Up Casserole: (with Maple Syrup)

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30  minutes, or  until a knife comes clean after inserting it into the middle of the casserole.

4 cups of cubed french bread ( I used Natures Pride Country White)

1 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

4 slices of cooked and crumbled bacon ( I used 6 slices)

2 cups of milk (I used skim milk)

4 eggs

2 tbsp. fresh Italian parsley chopped ( I used dried parsley)

1/2 tsp. mustard

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. onion powder ( I used 1/4 tsp.)

Cube the bread, and put it in a large mixing bowl. Add the cheese and bacon.  In separate bowl mix eggs, milk, parsley, mustard, pepper and onion powder.  Pour the egg mixture over the bread, cheese and crumbled bacon.  Mix thoroughly and pour into a lightly greased 7″x11″ baking dish (2 qts).  The recipe suggests covering, and refrigerating the casserole for 8 to 24 hours before baking.  I let the casserole sit for about a thirty minutes and then baked it.  It turned out great.

Now, I’m going to let you in on a little secret, I went one step beyond Country Home and I  served this with maple syrup for dipping. The combination of the bacon, cheddar, and maple, makes this casserole out of this world! 

I have to add that I was very impressed with Nature’s Pride’s bread.  The Country White was moist and fresh,  it smelled and tasted great too.    Nature’s Pride claims the following, no high-fructose corn syrup, no artificial preservatives,  just pure, natural goodness, and I believe them!

8 thoughts on “Wake up, it’s time for breakfast!

  1. Oh my does that breakfast casserole look incredible! I love that you used maple syrup for dippng, what a great idea. YUM!!! 🙂

  2. And what a wonderful way to wake up! You put all my favorite ingredients for a brunch. I’ll have to try it for my next one…my husband sure will love it!

Reply

