When a girl’s gotta have chocolate

Today was the day.  I absolutely needed chocolate. No getting around it.  You know those days.  There’s nothing else you’re going to eat that’s going to take care of a chocolate craving.

To remedy my chocolate craving I adapted a recipe I found in a Better Homes and Gardens All Time Favorites Cookbook (Volume 2).

The recipe called for maraschino cherries, but since I don’t particularly care for maraschino cherries, and I wasn’t really craving anything but chocolate I simply left them out of the equation.

Here is my adapted version of their recipe.  These have four doses of chocolate in them!

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 c. sugar

1/2 c. softened butter (I used margarine)

1/4 tsp. baking soda, powder and salt

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/4 c. semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I actually set mine to 325 degrees because I think it tends to run a bit warmer than it should.  In a mixing bowl, mix butter eggs, sugar.  Add baking soda, powder and salt and vanilla.  Add cocoa, and then add flour.  Mix well, and fold in mini chocolate chips.  Drop onto slightly greased cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes.  Be careful not to over bake.  The edges should be firm, but not too dark. 

Cool on the cookie sheet for 1 minute and remove onto baking rack.

For the fudgy frosting add 1/2 c. of sweetened condensed milk and 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips into saucepan.  Heat until chips are melted and remove from heat.  Frost immediately.  I opted for more mini-chips on top.  Like I said, I was really craving chocolate…

I’d like to happily report that my craving has been satisfied.  But then again why wouldn’t it be with a quad-chocolate cookie!

*Note – To keep fresh store in air tight container.  Best if eaten while fresh.

I also shared this recipe at Prairie Story (Thursday recipe swap) to see more Thursday recipes go to http://www.foodbuzz.com/blogs/2629861-prairie-story-recipe-swap-thursday